Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I didn't have bok choy or fish sauce, but I used spinach and it was great. I ended up also adding a lot of lime and some lime zest to it at the end to get it to the flavor I remember from my hometown's thai restaurant. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers to use chicken broth. It was nummy!! We served it with rice noodles to try something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Wilsonville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
We love Thai, and this is one of the better Tom Ka's I have tasted. Easy to make... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Really fast, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KidBlink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I combined this recipe with a few others I found online. Most notably, I added the Bok Choy last, otherwise it seemed overcooked. Great base recipe. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I liked it. but my husband and kids didn't. soo.... i can't give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Delicious! Pretty much made this exactly as is, but took some other reviewers advice and used 1 cup of chicken stock (homemade) with 3 cups water, and made sure to chop lemongrass big enough to be easily removed before serving. Also used slightly less fish sauce, to cut down on saltiness. Served with calrose rice, which added a nice creaminess. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I modified this into a curry. I used about half a kg of chicken (bones and all). I doubled the spices, garlic, ginger and onion. Followed the procedure, but I added only about a cup of coconut milk and about the same of water, as I felt the quantities given would be too much for a curry. I was out of fish sauce so used soya sauce instead. And i forgot to buy lemon grass, so used the chopped stalk of lemon grass instead. The end product was really good. I served it with Thai Style Fragrant Rice which complimented it great. Will def be making it again... Interestingly, the ingredients used except for the lemon grass and bok choy are similar to the ones used in south Indian (Kerala) cooking. But the order of cooking is very different which I think makes all the difference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The only word to describe this is HEAVENLY. The end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domenica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Nice rich taste. It was a bit 'flat' and I added juice from half a lemon. I cooked it always with mushrooms and this Bok Choi variation was a nice change. If you cook with mushrooms - omit Bok Choi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This soup has been added to our rotation. I can't believe we can make something this tasty in our own kitchen! Our changes: 1. add mushrooms (sliced crimini). 2. Cut the red pepper in half (at least), especially if you think you'll have leftovers... because it increases in heat by the next day. wooo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States