Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I used chicken broth instead of water and it still came out watery. I think it needed more coconut milk. I'm used to a much more creamy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Excellent. One of the best soups I've ever made. It is great just as it is... but since I can't leave well enough alone, I have substituted 1 1/2 lbs. of Jumbo Scallops for the chicken and added 1/2 lb. of crimini mushrooms and it is spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This recipe just wasn't all that great. It is certainly not worth going out and finding some of the more obscure ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Excellent flavor! Big hit at my party...for those who like Asian. I cut down the pepper a little so as not to overwhelm everyone and found it was still VERY warm. Although, the longer I cooked it the milder it became. I will cut down on the amount of fish sauce next time, as I found the smell a bit unsettling. Tasted fine, though. I served this from a crockpot after simmering on low for 4-5 hours and it was still great. I found the addition of rice nooodles to be just the right finish. Great Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Awesome!!! I substituted dried ginger for fresh and olive oil for peanut oil (I just forgot to buy the right stuff) and it was still so good that I will never have to order this soup from a restaurant again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
We love this soup!! My friends love it, too. They had to have the recipe. I used ground lemon grass from the spice section of my grocery store. It works great. I saute the onions first then add the other ingredients following the recipe. I like my onions well done. Be brave, try this soup. It's easy and delish!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This soup has great flavor. I cut some of the red pepper flakes and it was perfectly spicy. I added Thai rice noodles and some lime juice which worked well. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass and used the dried stuff (soaked it first), but it was really tough. I had to pick most of it out. Next time I'll just add the dried lemon grass in whole stalks and remove it before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
OUTSTANDING recipe. I had troube with the lemon grass too. Had to pick it out of the soup like bones from fish. The flavor in this is excellent. As compared to our favorite Tai restaraunt, I would say this is dead on! Maybe even better (and this simply isn't possible). Just don't know what the heck to do about this lemongrass issue. Next time, I will cut them in long strips and pull them out to serve like bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This was a pretty close representation of what I've had out at Tai restaurants. The one detractor was that I really didn’t know what to do with the fresh lemon grass when I got it. I chopped it as fine as I could but it was still very coarse in the soup. Kind of ruined it for me. After the fact I found out you can buy lemon grass in a jar, that's probably the way to go if you don’t what you’re doing with the fresh stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Soup was very good, but has quite a kick to it. Much too spicy for my 6 year old. My husband thought it was okay. If you're not to keen on spicy, I suggest you cut back on the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States