Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Fantastic recipe! I used it for my first foray into Thai food, and it turned out better than expected. I followed other reviewers' suggestions (increase coconut milk, replace water with chicken stock, reduce fish sauce and chili pepper) and the result was a delicious, creamy, savory soup that was even better than the tom ka gai I've had in restaurants. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass, so had to use dry. I solved the inedibility problem by putting it in a tea ball and boiling that with the soup. Probably didn't flavor it as much as it would have loose, but I experimentally tasted a leaf when it was done, and previous reviewers were right - it's tough and yucky; not something you want in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Awesome!! Added chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
One of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This has become one of my and my husband's favorite recipes. WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
My husband and I loved this soup. I served it over rice and it was very filling. I changed the water to 1 cup chicken broth, omitted the fish sauce and cabbage, added 1 T. lemon juice, and instead of the crushed red pepper used sambal oelek. I didn't have any fresh lemon grass, so I used Gourmet Garden's Lemon Grass blend. FYI Gourmet Gardens sells fresh herbs (lemon grass, garlic, ginger, chili paste) in tubes that are found in the produce department. They make preparation a snap and are a great addition to soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Excellent soup. I doubled the recipe and added a ton of leftover shrimp, scallops, and mussles. I couldn't find lemongrass and I didn't add boch choy - instead I added carrots and chopped tomoatoes. I added 1/3 less water than the recipe called for and added some chili oil to add more heat. Oh and a tiny bit of brown sugar as well. I made alot of substitutions, but it's a great base to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
My dinner party guests raved about this soup, but I only gave it 4 stars because it seems to be missing a key spice. The Tom Ka Gai I've had at three different restaurants is almost tangy and absolutely fabulous, whereas this is just very good. I replaced the bok choy with a can of straw mushrooms and a can of baby corn. Also, I substituted 2 cups of chicken broth for 2 of the cups of water. Please note that lemon grass is not meant to be eaten--it's too fibrous. I left mine in long strands, bruised them thoroughly with the back of a butcher knife, cooked them in the soup and then fished them out before serving it. I made this soup a day ahead, but worried that the coconut milk might break down before we ate it. It didn't and the flavors melded nicely overnight. I will definately make this again but I hope to find out what the key missing ingredient is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Excellent & authentic tasting! Exactly what I had been looking for. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Good recipe. Could not find lemon grass, and maybe that's why it didn't have the exact taste I was hoping for. Most people really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
ooooh yum! I skipped the lemon grass for convenience, used curry powder instead of corriander and cumin, and added a few tablespoons of fresh ground chili paste (I like things hot and this stuff comes in handy for alot of asian dishes!) it turned out great, except I wish i had used a bit less fish sauce (too bad I hadn't read the other reviews first)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States