Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
My boyfriend and I love spicy food, especially Thai food, and were both absolutely entertained and pleased by this recipe. I used "The Spice Hunter" dried lemon grass, and all of the fish sauce since we are fans of it. That part I will repeat. But next time I will make it with more chicken or shrimp, rice noodles, and mushrooms. Once you make this you will find many different ways to make it your own. 2 Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I was really keen to try and recreate the fabulous Tom Ka Gai we always order at a local Thai restaurant. I used this recipe, and I am SO disappointed. I made a 30 mile round-trip journey today specifically to get the ingredients (our Thai restaurant has a grocery attached, and I thought it would be good to get the same produce that they themselves use) - namely the fresh lemon grass, and also galanga, which is similar to ginger root, and which I have read is a more authentic Thai ingredient. Although it tastes alright - nothing at all like the restaurant's soup, unfortunately - it smells so disgusting that I can't bring myself to eat it. This was a pretty expensive waste of time >:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This took me a lot of work (more like two hours than one with all the chopping, although I may just be slow in the kitchen). But in the end it was worth it. Used chicken broth instead of water & reduced the red pepper a bit, otherwise followed recipe as written. The soup had GREAT texture and flavor. It was a bit spicy for me but my husband loved it. If you use whole lemongrass, chop it very large (like 3-inch pieces) so it's more easily picked out of the finished soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was FANTASTIC! Don't change a thing about it, it's absolutely perfect. Husband and I inhaled the entire pot of soup in about 5 minutes. Definitely the perfect thing to sate a Thai-craving. Thank you so much for sharing, I'll be making this about three times a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Loved it! I made it for dinner the first night the weather turned cold, and it really warms you from the inside out. My husband and I are wimps--I put in about 2/3 the amount of red pepper and may try it with half next time. I seldom can get fresh lemon grass at my grocer, but the produce section carries a lemon grass paste in a plastic squeeze tube (Garden Gourmet brand, I think) that worked quite well. Lovely, quick warming soup--will make it lots this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I modified this to suit what I had at home. I didn't have peanut oil (used olive oil)left out the ginger, lemon greass, fish sauce and bok choy. I used 2 cans coconut milk, and only 3/4 cup of chicken broth (instead of water) I also skipped the cilantro. I added rice noodles with 10 minutes cooking time left, and I ended up with a wonderful dish of noodles and sauce- which was just excellent! The only thing I would have changed would be to add more broth, since I needed more liquid, but it was excellent the way it was. So maybe it wasn't this recipe in the end but this was what I started from anyway. I think no matter what you do to this it turns out well, so have fun with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly as it is written, and the soup is wonderful! I have never used fish sauce before, and when I smelled it I was reluctant to add it to the soup, but it added a wonderful flavor and the finished soup isn't fishy at all. I plan to make this soup for company, it was very easy to make and just delicious! *** I have now also tried this soup with Lite Coconut Milk and the flavor and consistency just isn't the same. I recommend using whole coconut milk, and don't be worried about the added fat, the fat in coconut milk is good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This thai chicken soup is delicious. It's definitely a keeper! Nice heat. I used baby bok choi (the green leaves as well as the white stalks). The addition of bean thread, sea kelp, or rice noodles would be a plus. My partner wasn't keen on the texture of the lemongrass, so next time I may just smash the stalks & add them whole--so the flavor infuses the soup, but no tough bits at the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Husband said it is six stars. I read everyones reviews before I made this recipe. I followed their advice. I cut the red pepper in 1/2 and added sauted shrimp and cooked undon noodles at the end of the soup's simmer time. I did not add the cilantro. Left out the chicken. Think this would be great with blue mussels. I will do that the next time I make this. Use however much bok choy you have as this could use more than 2 cups. NOTE--LEMON GRASS IS LIKE BAY LEAFS, YOU DON'T EAT THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This is scrumptious! I used 4 fresh thai red peppers instead of crushed red pepper, and I added thai basil, dried shiitake mushrooms, and bean sprouts puchased from a local Oriental market. I also used frozen shredded lemongrass which helped reduce the prep time. After reading other reviews, I substituted half of the water with chicken broth and reduced the fish sauce a bit. Wow, it was delicious. I highly recommend this great recipe and look forward to trying it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States