Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
My boyfriend and I love spicy food, especially Thai food, and were both absolutely entertained and pleased by this recipe. I used "The Spice Hunter" dried lemon grass, and all of the fish sauce since we are fans of it. That part I will repeat. But next time I will make it with more chicken or shrimp, rice noodles, and mushrooms. Once you make this you will find many different ways to make it your own. 2 Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I was really keen to try and recreate the fabulous Tom Ka Gai we always order at a local Thai restaurant. I used this recipe, and I am SO disappointed. I made a 30 mile round-trip journey today specifically to get the ingredients (our Thai restaurant has a grocery attached, and I thought it would be good to get the same produce that they themselves use) - namely the fresh lemon grass, and also galanga, which is similar to ginger root, and which I have read is a more authentic Thai ingredient. Although it tastes alright - nothing at all like the restaurant's soup, unfortunately - it smells so disgusting that I can't bring myself to eat it. This was a pretty expensive waste of time >:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This took me a lot of work (more like two hours than one with all the chopping, although I may just be slow in the kitchen). But in the end it was worth it. Used chicken broth instead of water & reduced the red pepper a bit, otherwise followed recipe as written. The soup had GREAT texture and flavor. It was a bit spicy for me but my husband loved it. If you use whole lemongrass, chop it very large (like 3-inch pieces) so it's more easily picked out of the finished soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was FANTASTIC! Don't change a thing about it, it's absolutely perfect. Husband and I inhaled the entire pot of soup in about 5 minutes. Definitely the perfect thing to sate a Thai-craving. Thank you so much for sharing, I'll be making this about three times a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Loved it! I made it for dinner the first night the weather turned cold, and it really warms you from the inside out. My husband and I are wimps--I put in about 2/3 the amount of red pepper and may try it with half next time. I seldom can get fresh lemon grass at my grocer, but the produce section carries a lemon grass paste in a plastic squeeze tube (Garden Gourmet brand, I think) that worked quite well. Lovely, quick warming soup--will make it lots this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I modified this to suit what I had at home. I didn't have peanut oil (used olive oil)left out the ginger, lemon greass, fish sauce and bok choy. I used 2 cans coconut milk, and only 3/4 cup of chicken broth (instead of water) I also skipped the cilantro. I added rice noodles with 10 minutes cooking time left, and I ended up with a wonderful dish of noodles and sauce- which was just excellent! The only thing I would have changed would be to add more broth, since I needed more liquid, but it was excellent the way it was. So maybe it wasn't this recipe in the end but this was what I started from anyway. I think no matter what you do to this it turns out well, so have fun with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly as it is written, and the soup is wonderful! I have never used fish sauce before, and when I smelled it I was reluctant to add it to the soup, but it added a wonderful flavor and the finished soup isn't fishy at all. I plan to make this soup for company, it was very easy to make and just delicious! *** I have now also tried this soup with Lite Coconut Milk and the flavor and consistency just isn't the same. I recommend using whole coconut milk, and don't be worried about the added fat, the fat in coconut milk is good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This thai chicken soup is delicious. It's definitely a keeper! Nice heat. I used baby bok choi (the green leaves as well as the white stalks). The addition of bean thread, sea kelp, or rice noodles would be a plus. My partner wasn't keen on the texture of the lemongrass, so next time I may just smash the stalks & add them whole--so the flavor infuses the soup, but no tough bits at the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Husband said it is six stars. I read everyones reviews before I made this recipe. I followed their advice. I cut the red pepper in 1/2 and added sauted shrimp and cooked undon noodles at the end of the soup's simmer time. I did not add the cilantro. Left out the chicken. Think this would be great with blue mussels. I will do that the next time I make this. Use however much bok choy you have as this could use more than 2 cups. NOTE--LEMON GRASS IS LIKE BAY LEAFS, YOU DON'T EAT THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This is scrumptious! I used 4 fresh thai red peppers instead of crushed red pepper, and I added thai basil, dried shiitake mushrooms, and bean sprouts puchased from a local Oriental market. I also used frozen shredded lemongrass which helped reduce the prep time. After reading other reviews, I substituted half of the water with chicken broth and reduced the fish sauce a bit. Wow, it was delicious. I highly recommend this great recipe and look forward to trying it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States