Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Awesome soup! Taste just like the restaurants! The only thing I did differently was that I added mushrooms, and extra chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This is obviously just my opinion. I am NOT comparing this to a Tom Ka Gai soup (or whatever the real/ original name is) since I HAVE NO IDEA what the real soup tastes like - I am just an average american cook. With that said - the fish sauce was so nasty that I, nor my family, could eat this. The taste of the fish sauce was just not right. Plus the red pepper called for was waaaaay to much. Again - maybe this tastes like the real thing...I don't know....I just know I did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
As good as at my favorite Thai restaraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARROBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This had so much flavor and was excellent. However, we used 2 tbsp of crushed red pepper flakes, and it was SOOO spicy! Too spicy to even eat, which was a bummer because it smelled so good! So.. I would be careful how much spice you add. We also added extra lemongrass which I think made it taste even better, and used red bell peppers and mushrooms instead of chicken. We also replaced half of the water with chicken broth and used lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was all right. I was expecting something more similar to the soup our Thai restaurant serves, but this really didn't taste like it at all. If I make it again, I think I'll omit the onions. They really didn't do anything for the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This was better even than I expected. I put only 1 t crushed red pepper in the soup and it was flavorful, but not too hot. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Fabulous recipe! This has become a staple in my house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Wonderful! I added more veggies(whole head of boc choy,mushrooms, snow peas, carrots) a can of chicken broth to accomodate all the veggies, another 1/2 can of lite coconut milk, and a tiny bit of red thai curry. I am SO happy to be able to have this at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Yippee!! My guy mentioned that he loves "lemon grass soup" so I found this recipe. I can't wait for him to get home from work and try this! I had to use dried lemon grass (wimpy grocery store) but it tastes great! I doubled the garlic (I always do), added shrimp along with the chicken, and chicken broth (instead of water). I kept it low carb without rice or noodles. OMG this is the bomb! It screams with flavor! Thanks for posting this EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
WOW! Spicy! I made this last night for my husband. He is from Cambodia and my family from Germany and we live in the USA! We both thought that it was a little bit too spicy maybe just add 1 tsp. of crushed red pepper next time instead of 2. But over all the flaver was outstanding! I have never had this dish before I made it last night and I will be making it again. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States