Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
awesome and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Cut down on spice; for 6 used 2 cans coconut milk and 2 chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Great! However, too much Bok Choy. Would have liked it as a garnish, not so much bulk. Also, added another can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PurushaNatasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this last night with no substitutions (other than ginger powder instead of fresh). I added a little more chicken, but that's it. I wasn't wowed, but my husband loved it! Next time I would reduce the water and add more coconut milk so it is creamier. I would also add some lime juice at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was really good! The only ingredient I did not have was the fish sauce. I also made this with pork instead of chicken. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Fantastic! This soup is both mine and my boyfriends favorite soup EVER. I substituted the bok choy for one red bell pepper, and 2 cups mushrooms. Also I left out the fish sauce, and used regular oil both due to allergies... Still turned out perfect! Just like at a Thai restaurant. Season with lemon juice to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This may not be perfectly authentic, but I was fairly pleased with the result. The instructions to cook chicken breast for a half hour after it's basically fully cooked in the pan, though, can only result in a tough piece of chicken. So I think I would change the order..first cook the spices, then the veg, then add the liquid and *then* toss in the chicken. I made some substitutions here because I didn't have everything the recipe called for. So I'm rating this more for the method than the specific flavor of the exact combo of ingredients. I took off one star for the tough chicken. We served ours with Quinoa, which was interesting but maybe not the most successful. I also did not have lemongrass, which I think would have been lovely. But this method is a great use of bok choy, it goes very well with the coconut milk and fish sauce and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Followed this recipe for the most part-- doubled it. I didn't buy Bok Choy because I had a head of green cabbage, so I shredded about 1/2- 3/4 cup and added it. Also added approx 2 cups of uncooked prawns. I added gralic chili paste to my soup, as well as a big spoonful of Tom ka Gai soup base. As a side, I cooked a pot of jasmine BROWN rice, adding 1T. Costco chicken base in the jar. Ground up roasted peanuts to serve on top of the cooked rice. My sweetie put a big scoop of peanut-topped rice in his bowl then ladled the soup on top. I added a squeeze of a meyer's lemon to my bowl and an additional scant of the garlic-chili paste. Both tasted excellent. My honey's was nuttier! As for the cabbage, it tasted fine in our soup, but I would def use the Bok Choy from now on for a more authentic flavor and texture. I felt like the shredded cabbage just wasn't right for this soup, and I don't think chopped cabbage is either. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I have made this soup many times and it is a big hit with my picky husband. I gave 4 starts only because I do change a few things. I couldnt find lemon grass the 1st time so I used just a little lemon juice and insted of chicken breast I use ground turkey sausage and a shalot insted of onion because it is not as stong. I do use a whole good, full head of bok choy and like the picture I cook a pot of jasimine rice as a filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States