Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
Outstanding! Exotic & unique flavor! I omitted the fish sauce (unable to find any), and had to use dried lemongrass from a spice jar because I couldn't find fresh (I live in a semi-rural area). Per previous comments, I substituted chicken broth for the water and reduced the red pepper by half. It was still quite tangy, so next time I'll probably reduce the red pepper further. I added a little extra bok choy and cilantro. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
This soup was wonderful and every bit as good as the kind I get at the Thai restaurants. I might add more chicken and sub in chicken broth for the water. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
Amazing! My friends told me that is was better than the Tom Ka Gai that we get at our favorite Asian restaurant. I added dried oyster mushrooms and egg noodles. I also could not find lemon grass and had to use dried lemon zest, but it didn't matter. It turned out wonderful. Dianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
GORGEOUS! My girlfriend and I are big Thai fans and adore a good bowl of Tom Ka Gai. I made this for her as a surprise one day (I'm a novice in the kitchen) and it turned out to be the best we've had. I added shrimp as well. It was surprisingly easy to make, yet my girlfriend now thinks I'm talented in the kitchen. Teally, the hardest part was shopping for the ingredients since fresh lemon grass and fish sauce aren't readily available at your average market. If you're not a spicy fan, make sure and add the red pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
I had to doctor this up quite a bit. I added 1 medium sized Lemon squeezed for some more tang and some ground red pepper to turn up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Hi, I'm thai and want to change some ingredients in the recipe. Well, I will tell you how to cook Tom Ka Gai. Firstly, you got to cook pieces of chicken breast in coconut milk--you can add some water--depends on how thick you like. Secondly, put 3-5 pieces of lemon grass (2 inches each), 3-5 pieces of galanga (0.5 centimeters thick), 3-5 kaffir lime leaves (we called it bai-ma-grood), lemon or lime juice, fish sauce, crushed fresh chilli, coasly chopped cilantro, mushroom or cabbage. The taste will be a bit sour, salty and spicy. You can buy all ingredients in asian food shop. Don't put ginger because "Ka" in thai means galanga. Those two are look alike, but their smell are totally different. We eat Tom Ka Gai with rice and when you eat it don't eat lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves and galanga. We put it for smell not eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This soup was unbelieveably good. Just like the soup they serve in Thai restaurants. The prep time was a little long (lots of chopping and slicing) but worth it. Next time, though, I may decrease the amount of red pepper and add noodles. Couldn't find lemongrass, but it tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Excellent! I substituted a thinly sliced Jalapeno pepper for part of the red pepper, added another chicken breast, and a squeeze of lime. Will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
My wife and kids found this recipe to be too hot. I travel to Asia frequently and found this to be very authentic. I added mushrooms and halved the amount of pepper and my family thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
EXCELLENT!!!!! This is sooo good that coconut milk is now a staple in my kitchen. Is the lemon grass supposed to be eaten? I couldn't find fresh so i got bottled and it is really hard, next time i'll chop it in larger chunks and just put it in for flavoring. Try this one, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States