Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This is a wonderfully different soup. I've never had it before and wanted to try it. I made a few additions and changes. I added rice noodles, shrimp instead of chicken, shredded coconut, and chile sauce. I couldn't find lemon grass, so i just used the juice from half a lemon and added more bok choy. I also used low fat coconut milk. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This soup turned out awesome! I used jarred lemon grass, and kept them in large pieces so that I could fish them out later. I also used mushrooms instead of chicken, and 2 green onion stalks instead of regular onion. Instead of 4 cups of water I used 2 cups chicken broth and an extra 14 oz can of coconut milk. I left out the cilantro as well. As others said, this recipe is very forgiving and will taste great with the addition of any vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Absolutely delicious, but I recommend adding the garlic with the bok choi instead of with the spices, as it can burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I loved this soup! I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions, and substituted chicken broth and more coconut milk for the water. I also used just 3 tbs. of fish sauce, and 1 1/2 tbs. red chili pepper. I used baby bok choy, and added mushrooms and bamboo shoots. I'll definitely make this again, only next time I'll use all of the chili pepper and fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Success! I followed the general consensus and subsituted two cups of chicken broth and an extra can of coconut milk in for the water. I used spinach instead of bok choy and added mushrooms, peppers and bamboo shoots. I also added some lime leaves, which need to be fished out at the end the same as bay leaves. Overall it was very good. The recipe is very forgiving and leaves the door open for personal tweaking. I only had a tspn of red pepper, but will definitely try more next time. It wasn't spicey enough for my liking. A note on the lemon grass - I only had one shoot which resulted in four 1-1 1/2 inch pieces and that was more than enough for flavour once they were scored. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
So good! The taste is really authentic. I substituted galanga root (I had it on hand) for the ginger and soaked the sliced chicken in lime juice for a couple of minutes before I put it in. I also added cooked shrimp (just 10 or so little ones) and 1 tsp lime zest before the 30 minute simmer. Following other reviewers advice, I used 1.5 TB of red pepper, substituted one cup of chicken broth for one of the cups of water, reduced the fish sauce amount to 3 TB, and added the cilantro just before serving instead of during cooking. It was perfect. I also used "light" coconut milk to cut down on fat and it was fine- maybe not as thick/creamy as the real deal but still good. This was great the next day, too, and disappeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Delicious! I followed other reviewer's advice and used two cans of coconut milk (about 30 oz) and 1 cup chicken broth instead of water. For the vegetables I used sui choy/napa because I find it really soaks up the flavour well, mushrooms and canned bamboo shoots. I also cut the fish sauce (too salty) down to 3 1/2 tbs and the chili powder to 1 1/2 tsp. Really tasty over rice or vermicilli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
this recipe is so good, i'm looking it up for the third time. don't chop the lemongrass too small because you will want to remove it before serving. also, use fresh lemongrass, the dried has very little flavor. great recipe and as soothing as classic chicken noodle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Our local Thai restaurant serves this soup, and I absolutely love it. I used this recipe as a base because my grocery did not have lemon grass, so I substituted 1/2 juiced lemon and sliced shallots. I also could not find fish sauce, but oyster sauce worked just as well. I also added 1/2 tsp curry and 1/4 tsp ground red pepper (we like it spicy!). This is undoubtedly a better soup than I have been paying $5.75 for! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skeller311

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I'd definitely half the fish sauce and crushed red pepper. I'd also double the amount of coconut milk, for a more creamy base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States