Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Didn't care much for this, the flavours were a little odd. Usually I love Thai food, but this was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I really liked this. I didn't have all of the right herbs, but still very flavorfull. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I can not count the number of times I've made this soup! It's absolutely fantastic.... broth instead of water is a must - I use 2 cans of coconut milk with 3/4 cup broth. Serve over steaming rice in deep bowls. Thanks Adrienne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Delish! I served this at a small dinner party last night and had rave reviews. The only thing I would do different next time would be to cut down the red pepper even more (and I used only half when I made it!). I don't mind the spice, but it was hot. I also used lite coconut milk, so maybe that didn't "cut" the heat. To give it a little more consistency, I'll probably throw in some shitake mushrooms as well. Overall, I really liked it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was FABULOUS! Used the lemongrass in a tube (So much easier!) I tweaked it based on our tastes...left out the coriander, substituted fresh, chopped spinach to drop in at the end...substituted chicken broth for the water, added halved baby carrots and finally parsley in place of the stronger cilantro. Even with my changes it still tastes like the soup at our favorite Thai place. In fact, my better half says he likes this one more! So, thank you Adrienne!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This recipe is great!!! I have a Thai restaurant near me that serves this dish, and this tastes exactly like it. It takes more like an hour and a half or so, but i am not a very fast chopper. Be warned: this dish is really spicy! I LOVE how spicy it is, but if you cant handle too much spice, reduce the crushed red pepper to about a tsp or so. I have made this sooooo many times, and its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Very tasty. The prep time was a little longer for me, but perhaps others are faster choppers than me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Delicious!!! My dh who usually doesn't appreciate my love of thai food, raved about this soup. He had two bowls full, and made sure I kept this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, adding all the fish sauce, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is one of my favorites recipes. It is easy and quick to do. I love it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States