Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I love coconut soup. I made this last night and what a big disappointment. I will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I love this soup. This is the first time I tried making it on my own and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Really wanted this to be a hit since it's my boyfriends favorite, but unfortunately it wasn't. I'm a veg so I didn't try it, but he mentioned that it didn't taste like Tom Ka Gai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smileigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Delicious!! I followed the recipe closely with the addition of the juice of one lime.I also used the chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
MAN!!! I did not care for the smell or taste. Everything was looking and smelling good untill I added the fish sauce. What a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This turned out extremely good! I could have licked the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
It makes a great base soup for adding many types of veges and seafood. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was a fantastic soup! The lemon grass was a little hard to find but I did find it. Like others have stated I cut it into 2 inch pieces, bruised it, and then removed when finished as you can't digest it. I will definitely make this again. My wife loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
not bad, but lacks robust taste and is not like real Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This recipe is SOO good. It's usually all gone by the end of the day. I took a couple suggestions and it turned out wonderful. I've made this recipe about 5 times. First off DON'T add more that 1 cup of chicken broth, thats wayyyy too much and far more salt than necessary. I used 3 cups of water and 1 cup of reduced fat chicken broth. The flavor was just awesome. Also ADD MUSHROOMS! They blend with the flavor so well and really add something special to the recipe. I used a combination of white and brown. We also used 3 small chicken breasts, more to chomp on :D If you don't have peanut oil just add 1 tsp peanut butter to the oil you have. With these modifications I find it to be perfect, best soup I have ever tasted. Don't skimp on the ginger its fantastic! Great recipe I highly HIGHLY recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States