Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Excellent! Make sure you peel off the woody outer layers of the lemongrass and chop the soft core very finely. If you're running short or just want to get all the lemongrass flavor you can, leave the outer husks whole but pound them with the rough side of a meat tenderizer or the dull side of a large knife. Remove the husk before serving. Also, throw in a kafir lime leaf and remove before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Absolutely delicious. I read through all the reviews and used their suggestions. only 1/4 tsp red pepper, 3 Tb fish sauce, added 1/2 lb shrimp, used 2(14 oz) cans coconut milk and 3/4 c. chicken broth (instead of 1 can coconut milk and 4 cups water), cut lemon grass in long strips and removed prior to eating, added rice noodles. My husband can't handle spicy dishes and he said this was perfect. I describe it as "warm". If you like it spicy like me, add more than 1/4 tsp red pepper. Definitely recommend it! My husband who, in general, doesn't like Thai food, said we should have this again. Oh! one more thing...fresh lemon grass is available in almost any asian market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This was delicious! I added galanga and crimini mushrooms and 1/2 c. long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I've only had Tom Yum soup at a Thai restaurant, never had Tom Ka Gai, but I might try it soon based on this recipe! I cooked the ingredients in a different order though--first I simmered the coconut milk & water with the ginger and lemongrass for about 10 minutes to steep the flavors, then strained that and added the chicken and other ingredients and simmered about 20-30 minutes from there. That way I avoided having the tough lemongrass bits in the soup. I had a 14-oz can of coconut milk which I mixed with 6-7 cups chicken broth, and increased the fish sauce to 1 tablespoon per cup of broth (for me, 6 tbsp). I also added the juice from 1/2 lemon, imitation crab meat (adding this makes it taste very different but still good), and mushrooms to the soup. About 3 minutes before serving, I threw in some rice noodles. My boyfriend and I both loved it and I've *never* cooked any Thai soup before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This is one of my favourite recipes now. Based on other reviewers' comments I have added galanga to the recipe, and when I can find it fresh Vietnamese Coriander is spectacular, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica from Calgary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Yummy! I added bamboo shoots and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
This was a great soup, I was a looking for something a little different not the same old soup. Not a complaint about it. I really like lemongrass, and it added a great flavor to this meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
So fantastic that I had to write my first review- I have made this so many times these past few months and company always loves it, thinks it is much more complicated. I add a bit more coconut milk/less water and lots of carrots and portobella mushrooms. I definitely recommend a strong smokey mushroom falvor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I love this stuff! I have made it 5 times. One time I made it for a potluck at school and I don't know if I mis-measured the pepper or what but it was too spicy. Only one person could eat more than a small cup. It is always spicy so if you can't take the heat, careful with the pepper. I always add lots of extra bok choy becuase I am trying to get more veggies down. It is simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYCO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
THIS SOUP IS EXCELLANT. EASY AND SPICEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSUMILLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States