Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Awesome!! Added chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
One of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This has become one of my and my husband's favorite recipes. WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
My husband and I loved this soup. I served it over rice and it was very filling. I changed the water to 1 cup chicken broth, omitted the fish sauce and cabbage, added 1 T. lemon juice, and instead of the crushed red pepper used sambal oelek. I didn't have any fresh lemon grass, so I used Gourmet Garden's Lemon Grass blend. FYI Gourmet Gardens sells fresh herbs (lemon grass, garlic, ginger, chili paste) in tubes that are found in the produce department. They make preparation a snap and are a great addition to soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Excellent soup. I doubled the recipe and added a ton of leftover shrimp, scallops, and mussles. I couldn't find lemongrass and I didn't add boch choy - instead I added carrots and chopped tomoatoes. I added 1/3 less water than the recipe called for and added some chili oil to add more heat. Oh and a tiny bit of brown sugar as well. I made alot of substitutions, but it's a great base to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
My dinner party guests raved about this soup, but I only gave it 4 stars because it seems to be missing a key spice. The Tom Ka Gai I've had at three different restaurants is almost tangy and absolutely fabulous, whereas this is just very good. I replaced the bok choy with a can of straw mushrooms and a can of baby corn. Also, I substituted 2 cups of chicken broth for 2 of the cups of water. Please note that lemon grass is not meant to be eaten--it's too fibrous. I left mine in long strands, bruised them thoroughly with the back of a butcher knife, cooked them in the soup and then fished them out before serving it. I made this soup a day ahead, but worried that the coconut milk might break down before we ate it. It didn't and the flavors melded nicely overnight. I will definately make this again but I hope to find out what the key missing ingredient is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Excellent & authentic tasting! Exactly what I had been looking for. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Good recipe. Could not find lemon grass, and maybe that's why it didn't have the exact taste I was hoping for. Most people really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
ooooh yum! I skipped the lemon grass for convenience, used curry powder instead of corriander and cumin, and added a few tablespoons of fresh ground chili paste (I like things hot and this stuff comes in handy for alot of asian dishes!) it turned out great, except I wish i had used a bit less fish sauce (too bad I hadn't read the other reviews first)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Excellent! Make sure you peel off the woody outer layers of the lemongrass and chop the soft core very finely. If you're running short or just want to get all the lemongrass flavor you can, leave the outer husks whole but pound them with the rough side of a meat tenderizer or the dull side of a large knife. Remove the husk before serving. Also, throw in a kafir lime leaf and remove before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States