Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Five stars as long as you use chicken stock instead of water. Also, I bought a rotisserie chicken from the gocery store and just pulled the meat from it. I used a whole can (14 oz)of lite coconut milk rather than the heavy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Wow, I've never had any kind of Tom Ka Gai but I loved it! I skimmed reviews and subbed the water with 2 cans of chicken broth and 1 can of lite coconut milk but didn't catch the part about the lemon grass and was stuck picking little hard pieces out of my soup! Wish the recipe would've eluded to that... Might reduce the red pepper if making this for others, I doubt any of my friends or family would be able to tolerate the heat... Fish sauce simmers to a much more tolerable smell/taste so wouldn't change the amount as others have mentioned. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I should have followed others suggestions. It tasted extremely spicy. I only added 1.5 tsp rather than 2, and it was so hot. I followed it to a T and it just was so bland, then overly hot. Next time I will follow others suggestoins and use more coconut milk and broth. It is not good as is. I think it also needs more lemon grass. I have had this at a Thai restaurant here in PDX and I recall the lemon flavor coming through well and this one just didn't. Follow other suggestions below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
love to make this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Although this was not a personal favorite for me (since I'm not a fan of Thai food) my dad, who has tried this type of dish when overseas in the navy, said it was very good and authentic. It was too strong for me and I probably won't make it again, that is, unless one of my Thai-food loving friends or family members asks me to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVINEGRACE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This soup is amazing. I've always loved Thai food but especially recipies with coconut milk. I also substituted the chicken with shrimp and the bok choy with spinach and was wonderful. This is a very authentic flavored dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
OH BOY YUMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Really nice soup! I might use a bit less fish sauce next time, but this was a great soup, and a good thing too as my other dishes were not so good:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This is close to the one I had in a famous Thai restaurant in CA, the flavors are powerful and excellent, as soon you put it in your mouth it explodes. SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This soup gets a 5 STAR RATING *****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This is a wonderfully different soup. I've never had it before and wanted to try it. I made a few additions and changes. I added rice noodles, shrimp instead of chicken, shredded coconut, and chile sauce. I couldn't find lemon grass, so i just used the juice from half a lemon and added more bok choy. I also used low fat coconut milk. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States