Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
November 2006. I followed the recipe (which I don't usually do) and thought this was absolutely awesome. I'll consider some of the suggestions the next time, but probably won't deviate too much. It's been cold in Seattle but this really warmed things up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Made this tonight and was dissapointed. Tastes nothing like restaurant style. Didnt have a lot of taste, sorry. Wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Excellent. I doubled the chicken and think this was a good decision. I chopped the lemongrass and found it fine although next time (there WILL be a next time) I will leave whole and remove at the end. I used a small cherry pepper instead of the crushed pepper and this was pefect. Did all the rest exactly per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very close to restaurant style. My whole family loves Tom ka Gai soup and this really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
So awesome! My only problem with this dish is that my wife doesn't make it enough! We make the dish just as it asks. A little prep required to get the ingreds, but it is very much worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Fabulous!!! This was the very first Thai food item I ever made and it was the best! I don't need to go to the restaurant to satisfy my Thai soup cravings anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Yum! I went to high school in Thailand, and while this isn't EXACTLY like authentic Tom Ka, it's about the closest that I've found! I added extra lemon and will add torn lemon leaves to the soup next time, while cooking (discard lemon leaves before eating)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
YUM! This soup is delicious. Actually, I didn't follow the recipe. I used most of the ingredients listed and also read the reviews to make adjustments to this soup. I did not use ginger. Only galanga root will do for a tom ka soup according to my thai friend. Also I left out the chicken and used tofu. I substituted vegetable broth for water and used no red pepper flakes. I just wanted to share my process and ingredients so that others may benefit. I cooked coconut milk, vegetable broth, whole lemongrass(dont chop it up-you have to remove it later), galanga root, kaffir lime leaves, cumin, coriander, fresh thai chilis, sauteed garlic, soy sauce, sriracha, a dash of sugar, fish sauce, yellow curry paste. This mixture cooked for about 1-1/2 hours. I removed the lemongrass, peppers, galanga and lime leaves before adding veggies. In a separate pan I sauteed tofu, broccoli, and zuchini squash lightly. When the broth was ready, I added the veggies and let them cook very briefly. I also added shredded carrots. The bok choy was added at the end to cook for only 2 minutes in the soup. At the very end I added lime juice, cilantro and green onions. Its so good my man and I cant stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Very comforting. My entire family enjoyed this, even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe! I'm going to save so much money now that I know how to make this soup at home. I followed other commenters advice and used broth instead of water. Try it with shrimp or tofu for variety. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cali, Valle Del Cauca, Colombia
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States