Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Soup was very good, but has quite a kick to it. Much too spicy for my 6 year old. My husband thought it was okay. If you're not to keen on spicy, I suggest you cut back on the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Fantastic flavor! I used only half the pepper and added shrimp instead of chicken. Delicious and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Why eat anything else? Find an Asian market and get galangal, lemongrass, and kaffir lime leaves. I more or less doubled everything except the fish sauce. I used 1 reg and one lite coconut milk. Skipped the oil, added some chili paste for extra spice. Omitted the bok choy and used green onions. I used half water and half chicken broth. Don't forget to serve with rice. Tastes as good as the recipe from my Thai cookbook. UPDATE: I have since made this with bok choy and did not like it as much, and I love bok choy. Also, if your soup tastes "flat" you need to add a squeeze of lime juice to brighten all the flavors. The lemongrass should be bruised, give it a bash with the flat side of a knife or smack with your rolling pin, and NOT chopped or consumed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This Recipe is AWESOME!!!! I Loved the *spicyness*, and did add chicken broth in place of water. Works well if you are on a low-carb diet, and need variety. I also thought it tasted similar to the soups I have had in Thai restaurants! I definately will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Excellent... I accidently doubled the coconut milk put in but it still was very spicy (and good!) so people may want to half the spices (as is said repeatedly in past reviews). Also I used salmon instead of chicken and fish sauce and used chopped spinach instead of boy choy. Next time will probably add mushrooms. Overall its the best soup I've ever made and great if you like spicy food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Super soup! Tastes just like the Tom Ka Gai at our favorite Thai restaurant. May cut the crushed red pepper to 1-1/2 teaspoons next time. I had steamed rice available for those who wanted to spoon some into their soup, this worked out great. Thanks Adrienne, I could have never created such a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This soup was unbelieveably good. Just like the soup they serve in Thai restaurants. The prep time was a little long (lots of chopping and slicing) but worth it. Next time, though, I may decrease the amount of red pepper and add noodles. Couldn't find lemongrass, but it tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
My husband loves Thai food and he loves this recipe; I like other Asian food, but I didn't care for this at all. It has a good heat, but I didn't like the strong coconut flavor. I think using chicken broth instead of water might have helped, as would noodles, for someone who's not a huge Thai food fan. If you like Thai, though, this is worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
EXCELLENT!!!!! This is sooo good that coconut milk is now a staple in my kitchen. Is the lemon grass supposed to be eaten? I couldn't find fresh so i got bottled and it is really hard, next time i'll chop it in larger chunks and just put it in for flavoring. Try this one, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
My wife and kids found this recipe to be too hot. I travel to Asia frequently and found this to be very authentic. I added mushrooms and halved the amount of pepper and my family thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States