Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This was so good! The fish sauce was gross, I've never cooked with it before, but once it's all incorporated in it just goes beautifully together. Don't omit it just because it smells horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I was hoping this would come out similar to the soup I order at the local Thai restaurant, but it didn't at all. I wasn't a big fan of this. Thank you though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Used low-fat coconut milk, which worked just fine. A great dish that is simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Don't skimp on the cilantro and add some freshly squeezed lemon juice for added zing. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Great recipe! Next time I would cut the red pepper in half, as it was piping hot! I even broke out into a sweat while eating it. :-) I also used chicken broth instead of water, and it was nice and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This was not as flavorful as I expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
We are big Thai food fans and we were very pleased with how this turned out. Even though I didn't have all the ingredients, the recipe is very forgiving and it turned out excellent. My husband is Japanese and really knows his Asian food so the fact that he raved about it was a big plus for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I love this soup! Adrienne, you are a goddess of Thai cuisine! The only changes I made - used chicken broth instead of water, doubled the coconut milk and halved the fish sauce per other reviewers comments and added the cilantro in the last 5 minutes of simmer. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This soup is my favorite, and every time I get the chance to go to a Thai restaurant I order it. So, I tried this recipe out to see if I could match the ones I've had at restaurants and it comes close. There is something missing, maybe the kaffir lime leaves would have done the trick. I followed some of the other reviews and used chicken stock instead of water, added more coconut milk and included a can of straw mushrooms (drained). I'll definitely try this again, but I'll add the lime leaves and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Fantastic recipe! I used it for my first foray into Thai food, and it turned out better than expected. I followed other reviewers' suggestions (increase coconut milk, replace water with chicken stock, reduce fish sauce and chili pepper) and the result was a delicious, creamy, savory soup that was even better than the tom ka gai I've had in restaurants. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass, so had to use dry. I solved the inedibility problem by putting it in a tea ball and boiling that with the soup. Probably didn't flavor it as much as it would have loose, but I experimentally tasted a leaf when it was done, and previous reviewers were right - it's tough and yucky; not something you want in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States