Adrienne's Overnight Barbecued Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Was great. Used half the sugar and double the corn starch. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
It was a wonderful recipe. I added some bbq sauce after I put the meat back in because it looked a little runny. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This turned out nice and tasty and good for hot beef sandwiches and toasted tortillas. Although too much liquid for my slowcooker but not too much of a problem as i always have this problem so ladle most of the gravy out and reduce to a nice thicker versionm. Definately would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was a winner. My husband said he loved it more than pork BBQ in the crock pot with the BBQ sauce added later. So I'm thinking I will use this recipe and add pork instead of beef next time. I think I will omit the 1/2 cup of water since it was not really needed. I did not use the cornstarch but I did drain off 2 cups of the liquid and froze it to use somewhere else in another recipe! So delicious! We don't come across 5 star recipes very often, so I have to thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was pretty good but as previous reviewer's mentioned: too sweet. We topped ours with BBQ sauce and that evened it out and was delicious but on it's own...way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Great recipe thank you, my lfamily loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klynn73

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Leanest, most delicious BBQ meat I've ever tasted! I followed the recipe exactly as written, using the leanest brisket I could find. Trimmed whatever fat I could see before putting the meat in slow cooker. I was a bit weary about the liquid smoke flavor, but am happy to report it wasn't overwhelming at all. This is the most delicious BBQ meat I've ever tasted - definitely a keeper!! It should be noted that despite adding corn starch at the end as directed in the recipe, the liquid sauce is still very then - like broth. Next time I'm going to shred the beef, add it back to the corn-starch-thickened sauce, mix well, drain in a strainer, and then serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I wasn't a very big fan of this. I used more of a pot-roast type cut of meat, because my store didn't have brisket, so to me, it tasted like pot roast with BBQ sauce. We probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellePaoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I loved this recipe. The only changes I made were to saute the onions and garlic before adding to the pot, and to omit the liquid smoke because we didn't have any. I cooled it, skimmed off the fat from the broth, and let the brisket rest in the broth overnight. The next day it was just delicious. The large amount of vinegar gives it a lot of tang, so you could adjust it there if desired. My girls are native Texan BBQ fiends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Adrienne, this is awesome!!!! I tried exactly as written (always do this first time before making changes) and found it to be incredible. It was even better the next day after the meat soaked in the wonderful sauce all night. I plan to do this again and again. Next time I might caramelize the onions first if I have time. Also, I did not have the 10 hours needed so I cooked it on high for 4 hours and then low for 2. The meat wasn't as tender as it probably would have been had I had the whole 10 hours to just cook it on low. Next time, I'll plan ahead. One great thing about your recipe is I had all the ingredients on hand - no special trip to the store needed. Even my picky husband who isn't a huge brisket fan went back for seconds! My mom wanted me to tell you that she loved it too :). Kudos!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States