Adrienne's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I was looking for a recipe similar to my great aunt's "cucumber pickles" and this came pretty close. I made it for Memorial Day and my family really enjoyed it. One tip: You really need to salt the cucumbers before making the rest of the recipe to draw out excess water. I don't salt ANYTHING but I won't skip this step with this recipe. For all of the reviewers who ended up with too much liquid, I think this is why. I used 2 english cucumbers, sliced them thin and then sprinkled one tablespoon salt over them and covered with plastic wrap for 2 hours. You wouldn't believe how much water this pulls out of the cukes. Pour all of the water off (don't rinse) and continue with the recipe. It is absolutely unnecessary to boil anything -just pour everything over the cukes after salting and let set in fridge overnight. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
679 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe was OK. Really this recipe comes down to a couple of things. The amount of cucumbers that you use and your taste. For those who like a little bite,you'll have to use more vinegar,for those who don't,use more sugar. I actually had to double both. I found that if you add the DILL into the water,vinegar,sugar mixture when on the stove, it has a better taste and mixes better. Also, adding salt and pepper to the cucumbers and onions BEFORE the mixture is a MUST. That small change makes a world of difference to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
670 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS AFTER MAKING THIS SEVERAL TIMES: These tips are just a reminder for my old age what I did after so many test trials. The person who recommended using an english cucumber hit the key!! We wondered what was different about our recipe than the person we were trying to copy and that was it!! BUT... normal cucumbers also taste great, I just could tell a difference. Then the person who said for 1 cucumber, 1/2C white vinegar, 1/4C sugar, 1/4C water, sprinkle salt lightly after you've sliced them, and then 1/2t dill got it right! With 4 large cucumbers,, I'd definitely double the liquids or there would not be enough liquid to soak this all up. I always omit the onions! I think you have to kind of know what you're about to make to really appreciate this recipe b/c before I had this... this would have tasted and looked gross on paper. I knew what I was looking for, so there were no surprises. It's our favorite! ...or at least my husband's. It's my favorite just b/c he thinks I'm the best now that I can make his mom's "secret" cucumber dish ;) His mom also does the salt with a T in Tupperware for 2-3 hrs, rinse the 2/3C+ of water you'll have left, and then continue with recipe. Also better to marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used 4 large cucumbers. I found that after it sat in the frig for 3 hours or so that there was too much liquid. I am not sure if I didn't use enough cucumbers or if it needed to sit longer. I will make it again. It was very good. I will just have to work out that problem. I only used 1/2 teaspoon of dill as someone else suggested. That seemed perfect. If I do add more cucumbers next time then I will probably use more dill though. The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't any suggestion of how many cucumbers to use for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
YUMMY..To me, this is a classic southern salad that brings back wonderful memories of summertime dinners that were full of fresh garden veggies. I took the advice of others, used one english cucumber, 1/2 cup of vinegar,1/4 cup of suger,1/4 cup of water,pinch of salt, and onion and dill to taste...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
One word- DELICIOUS! What a wonderful side salad for a grilled steak dinner. I prepared this dish a day in advance to let the cucumbers soak in all the "good stuff". I threw in a handful of sliced roma tomatoes as well and wow! Definitely recommend this cucumber salad- it was just the recipe I was looking for. I remember having this as a young child and was only fortunate enough to enjoy it if I could beat my sisters to the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Delicious and so easy!! I used four medium sized cucumbers and it came out perfect. Although I'm not usually a fan of dill I added a little (about 1/2 teaspoon) and I loved it. Thank you, Adrienne!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This was teriible. I added tomatoes and used red onions but that was not the problem. The marinade was nothing but vinegarized sugar water with dill. Heating the marinade did nothing but dissolve the sugar. This definetly needed salt and vegetable or olive oil for a more salad dressing flavor. Maybe some more spices other than just dill too. I won't make this again. But health nuts that don't use salt or oil might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Delicious and so easy!! I used four medium sized cucumbers and it came out perfect. Although I'm not usually a fan of dill, I added a little (about 1/2 teaspoon) and I loved it. Thank you, Adrienne!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
I did not care for this at all. It was just too sweet for my taste. Thanks anyway Justin :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 717) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States