Adrienne's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I wanted to find a cucumber salad recipe comparable to the one at the Fresh Market because paying almost $7 a pound a couple of times a week was starting to get expensive. This recipe is delicious and we like it even better than the Fresh Market's! I followed the advice on another post and put the dill in with the water/vinegar/sugar and boiled it all together. I also use red onions instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I've made this too many times to count for my husband because he loves cucumber salad. We tried about 6-7 different versions, but this was by far his favorite! I always make it in small batches since he's the only one eating it. Like some others have said, I use slightly different proportions than the original-1 cucumber, 1 onion, 1/2 cup vinegar, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup water, and 1/2 tsp dried dill. Salting the cucumbers beforehand and letting them sit for 20-30 min really helps draw out a lot of the moisture in them so they don't release quite as much into the salad later. I just toss them with the salt and let them sit in a colander in the sink, tossing them occasionally. And I find it easier to just put the dill right in with all the other ingredients instead of waiting to stir it in. Give it a try if you like a good tangy, vinegary cucumber salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charysma88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
i make this all the time.. so so good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
It looked kind of watery. But talk about fast, easy, and delicious! We just added tomatoes and more cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Delicious!! Will be adding tomato next time. Not a dill fan do I skipped that. Kinda surprised it had 99 calories tho, guess from the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This tastes very similar to other dill cucumber salads that I've had (and almost identical to another on this site) which means that it's good! If you're using sugar substitutes, they will work well in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
A huge key in making cucumber salad, is that you slice the cukes uniform with a mandolin and that you sprinkle salt on them liberally to force the water out of them. After letting them sit so the water comes out, you squeeze them dry with your hands. This step is missed in so many cucumber salad recipes. It makes a nice salad with vinaigrette or sour cream. BUT YOU HAVE TO SQUEEZE THE WATER OUT OF THEM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ingrid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Excellent! Brings back memories of my Mom's Cucumber salad. Very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These are addicting!! I make them all the time now and its my go to snack cant get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It's so easy and tastes so good. I received many compliments on "my" cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Fagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 736) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States