Adriel's Chinese Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This is almost exactly what is served in our best local chinese restaurant. They gave me the recipe, but this is probably a Thai or more likely Indonesian version when you add the coconut and yellow curry paste. (We have a superb brand here in not only yellow, or "mussaman" curry) but also green and fiery red pastes. I suspect the yellow is the mildest.) I am so glad I will have this in my recipe file so I will not have to hunt it up in books. The four stars only mean I am about curried out at the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Wonderful. My husband just returned from a long stressful trip and I hadn't planned ahead for dinner. With salad and basmati rice; just the thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Delicious, quick and easy to make. Modifications: Doubled the sauce portion of the recipe, because I enjoy a good amount of sauce with my curry (and the cans of coconut milk typically are >10 oz). Although I doubled the sauce, I used only 2 chicken breast halves, which were roasted and shredded, then added during the last 10 minutes of simmer to absorb flavor; I prefer this texture, and there was plenty of chicken, some in each bite. In addition, added carrots which were cut on the bias (so that they would cook at same rate as potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent. Simple as that. The recipe doesn't call for exotic ingredients that are hard to find, but the taste is restaurant quality. I've tried several curry dishes from this site and none compare to the ease and taste surprise I found in this recipe. I doubled the coconut milk and curry paste as we like it spicy and rich. This is very easy to make and made my picky husband happy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I had a can of Thai yellow curry paste in the cupboard, but when I opened it and tasted it, it was a bit too perfumy for me, so I used green curry paste instead. I also used boneless, skinless thighs instead of breasts because they stand up better to the long simmering without drying out like breasts. I also used the full can of coconut milk as other reviewers mentioned and added carrots. I bumped up the heat as well with a few red chili flakes. My husband and I lilked this very much. Thank you so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Excellent! It turns out so creamy with the coconut milk. I also didn't have fresh ginger, and used dry but will try it next time with the fresh. Added extra garlic as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I LOVE THIS CURRY. THANK YOU!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Delicious! I made this for my family, and it was too spicy for my kids- so they ended up with pb&j tonight. I doubled the recipe to have leftovers, and added an extra can of coconut milk to tame the spiciness. Was pretty simple to make. I also mixed all the ingredients in step 1 in the food processor to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Tastes very similar to my wife's favorite yellow curry she used to order, when she lived in Fayetteville, Arkansas, from a restaurant called "Taste of Thai." We added some things they added at the restaurant, namely some extra cayenne pepper for heat, extra curry paste (we love a strong curry flavor), and some sliced "chip" carrots. We liked the real **** spicy to our curry, so we added a generous infusion of cayenne pepper. Like many other reviewers, we also doubled the sauce recipe because it is SO good and due to the fact that a lot of it gets soaked in the fresh white rice we serve with it. And since the only coconut milk we find comes in a 13 oz can, why waste something so delicious? We also could not find fresh ginger, but our Walmart had a fresh ginger paste mixture in the produce section, and it smelled wonderful cooking with the chicken and garlic in the beginning. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I've had a hard time finding a simple recipe for curry, but at last it's here! For some reason Whole Foods didn't carry yellow curry paste, so I used green (which I typically prefer anyway) and it turned out wonderfully. I also added zucchini so I didn't feel too bad for eating so much starch. It's sweet, spicy, and delicious! Almost as good as my favorite Thai green curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States