Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is the best adobo recipe I've found- it's just like what my in-laws serve, and it's very easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
LOVED this recipe. I made a few minor changes. One that was suggested is equal parts vinegar with the soy. I added about a Tbs of honey and after letting it sit in the crockpot for several hours, I put the chicken (minus the sauce) into a baking dish and just browned/crisped the top. Served over a bed of jasmine rice and drizzle with the sauce. YUMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Following the suggestions of other reviewers, I browned the chicken with onions. I also did equal parts red wine vinegar and soy sauce. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was very good. The chicken was ridiculously tender and very flavorful. I had worried that the garlic would be overpowering, but that was not the case at all. I just wish there was a little more variety within this dish itself (some hot peppers or vegetables, for example), but you can of course serve veggies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I mixed all the liquids and seasonings together and dumped it over partially frozen bone-in chicken breasts in the crock-pot. It cooked while we slept - the smell when I briefly woke around 4:30 was delicious, and the first taste when I got out of bed around 6:00 was pretty good. The only change I will make next time is to reduce the vinegar. I used 1/2 red wine vinegar and 1/2 rice wine vinegar, but found the ratio of vinegar to soy sauce not quite to my liking. I'd more likely use equal parts of both in my next try. Still tasted great, although the house smelled like vinegar, which is not my husband's favorite smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I took one reviewer's word and added 1/2 cup of sugar... This is FANTASTIC! It's been added to our weekly menu!! So easy too! LOVIN IT@!@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANDT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva On The Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
im filipino and this dish is definitely a staple during parties and special events.. it is simple, easy to make..and definitely yummy...i just want you guys to try out putting a bit of white sugar..yes what you read is right..white sugar... to the mixture approximately half a cup, to thicken the mixture and give it a nice sweet, salty, sour taste. it's also a great way to balance out the vinegar for those who used too much. believe me it's gonna add more flavor to your dish...enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Oh man, this is wonderful! I had a bunch of friends over - one of whom has a gluten allergy - and to be able to whip this up in no time without really leaving the party was awesome. Not only that, but it got rave reviews and there was NONE left over! I cubed the chicken for ease of serving, but man, there's nothing I could do to improve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlinchOnce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is so easy to make and equally delicious! I've been craving it ever since I made it! I sliced a yellow onion into 1/4" slices and sauteed those a bit before adding the chicken and liquids. It adds a little something extra! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States