Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was delicious. I added 2 cups of shredded carrots and used apple cider vinegar instead of regular. I used chicken breasts cut into strips and crock potted it for about 3 hours. Served it over basmati rice and it was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
super easy to make and tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
My husband, who swears that adobo is his favorite food ever, LOVED this recipe!! It had a wonderful flavor and the meat was so tender. Highly recommend! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was fantastic! I had adobo once when a co worker brought in huge pans full, and I forgot to ask her for the recipe. I used chicken drumsticks but followed everything else to the T. Picky daughter loved this and there were no leftovers. thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelbrandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marj522
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Delicious! tastes just like my mom used to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj522
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is delicious! It came out tender with just the right spice- plus perfect ingredients for if you are sick like ginger and garlic (great for the immune system). I used crushed black pepper since I didn't have peppercorns. Great over white long grain rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This really is as good as everyone says it is! I tweeked it like many said to. I used red wine vinegar, added some sugar, chili powder, cumin and added sauted mushrooms, onions, add a few other veggies to the mix after it cooked. I served it over jasmine rice and WOW it was fantastic. My hubby loved it and I just shared this recipe with two co -workers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I could see this being good, but next time I will make one change. For me personally, it was just too much vinegar! The dish tasted too sour. I caught myself making the puckered sour face! Next time I would probably do only 1/2 a cup of white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I had ten drumsticks that I saved from a ruined Malaysian curry (bleck!), and had an hour to make something edible with ingredients I had on hand before the boyfriend came home. This is some of the most delicious, easiest meal that I made! The vinegar smelled a little too pungent while it was cooking, but the balance was just perfect in the end product, and all the vinegar tenderized the meat perfectly! YUM. Definitely will be keeping this in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is pretty much how I make my adobo, minus the ginger and with equal parts soy sauce/vinegar/water. My Lolo was a chef for the Navy and he made his with Teriyaki sauce, too. I like to make different variations from time to time, but I prefer the equal parts of sauces because you won't get too salty or too much vinegar. Adding water really helps for people that can't handle the taste. I do like the addition of the ginger, as used in teriyaki chicken. I can't imagine making chicken adobo without bay leaves, garlic, and pepper.... lots of pepper!!! And I agree having plain jasmine rice is the best way to eat it. Tear up your chicken after boiling for an hour, stick it over the rice, add some of the sauce to it....yummy!!!!!! (I'm Filipino)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States