Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I did make a few changes to suit my family's tastes. I used white wine vinegar, instead of the distilled white. I also used only skinless chicken leg quarters, since breast meat can be rather dry if braised too long. And, I browned the chicken in a little canola oil before adding the soy-vinegar mixture. Finally, after the meat was cooked, I skimmed the fat off the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I used boneless skinless chicken and left out the ginger since I didn't have any. Browned the chicken. Then I started off with 1 cup low sodium soy sauce & 3/4 cup white vinegar it was to tart to me and keep mixing the soy &vinegar to my liking it was still a little tart so I added 3tsp brown sugar & 1 cup water. Brought it to a boil & let it simmer for about 3 hrs adding a little water to keep chicken covered. I still gave this recipe 5 stars because it is a great starting point and it was delicious my whole family loved it! As others reviewers have stated I think the key to this recipe is finding the right balance between the soy & vinegar and adjusting it to your tastes=) Next time I will try it with the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've never had Adobo chicken before so I can't comment on authenticity as other reviewers have, but I thorough enjoyed it. I loved the tangy flavour and the sauce was amazing over rice and veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Erica
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was great! My husband and kids loved it! Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very tasty and definitely a keeper. I make adobo all the time. Ginger adds a nice touch. I browned my chicken first in garlic and not too much oil. Then cooked all for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Thank you for this perfect adobo recipe! Yeah I'm filipino and I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie C

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
this recipe is great. this is very similar to how my filipino mother cooks adobo except she puts more soy sauce then vinegar. A tip to reducing the tanginess flavor is by adding a pinch of baking soda until u reach your desired flavor of tanginess. works like a charm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Boni Fasho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Too much vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeloVlog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This recipe is SO good! Even my Filipino friends flip for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by operaphantom2005

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The vinegar was way too overpowering. I'm filipino and this is NOT how it should taste. Its not clear to me how this got such a high rating. Why doesn't allrecipes have the option for me to rate 0 stars??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States