Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is the best Adobo Chicken recipe I have tried. My kids agree! Reading the reviews helps too to choose what to tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie F.
Living In: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Awesome. Had a craving for adobe chicken at 11 at night...so I got up and made some. For those that thought the vinegar was too much, I would suspect that you did not let enough liquid content evaporate. It takes a good hour if not a slight longer to get the desired taste. I tasted it before it was ready and the vinegar was very strong. After a while though, all the flavor blended perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ypoitras
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I liked a lot. All the family liked enough to eat everything, only that, is enough to deserve at least 4 stars because it's rare! My wife thinks that the vinegar taste is too present. I agree a little bit, but I liked as it was. I overcooked the chicken a little bit, I don't cook it that way, usually, and to me, it looked uncooked. Next time, I will listen better to the directions! I realize, looking at others photos, that maybe I should have cut bigger pieces of chicken. I will do it again, it deserves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ypoitras
Home Town: Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Staple crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
family favorite. I like to take out the chicken after it is done cooking and fry in heated oil to crisp the skin. Then we like a little thicker sauce for your rice, and add a tablespoon corn sauce to 1/4 cup water and stir in simmering sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I tried to take too many reviewer suggestions. I did marinate my chicken thighs, but then I tried to brown it, and that did not work. I may try it next time the alternative way, but the marination without browning still tasted darn good. If I had cooked the chicken for the full 30 min (since I did not use the whole chicken), it would have been overcooked. I used the condensed sauce to sautee some long beans to really good results too. This recipe is definitely a repeat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Yum-o. Served with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We love this! My only changes were to cook in a slow cooker for 8 -10 hours, used 1/4 cup vinegar, and added 1/2 cup of water. Also, I was too busy to peel and chopped garlic, so I used 2 heaping teaspoons of jarred minced garlic. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was looking for a dish to make for girl scout international Night (we did the Philippines). And I found this. WOW this went over fantastically. I did 10 lbs and came home with less than a cup. I did follow the recomended changes. (used 1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar added 1 cup water. Used ground ginger). This has been added to our main dishes to cook. WOW amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I used my own variation and it turned out delicious! I don't like cooking twice so i just boiled everything on medium heat for about 35 minutes with the lid on. I used chicken thighs which always seem to pick up the marinade well. I didn't even have to let it sit in the marinade! I used the Braggs amino acids since I was on some diet earlier. I used about 1/4 cup braggs amino acids, 1 cup water, more if the juices are drying out too much (the juices will dry out even with the lid on), garlic powder, black pepper, and about 1-2 tablespoons of rice vinegar. I'm not a fan of vinegar, so less is better for me. I then put them all in the pot, pierced the skinless chicken thighs with a fork, and let it simmer on medium heat. then ate it with rice, now i'm addicted to it! yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States