Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
this was a great recipe. Even mine dad(780) liked it. Thanks Alexandra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is my favorite chicken dish to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This recipe is OK. I used 1/2 cup of vinegar instead of 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of water. In the end, the vinegar was still too overpowering for my taste. It didn't taste like any of the Adobo that I ate while spending time in the Philippines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very good. I made this in the crock pot - just removed as much of the skin as possible, threw all the ingredients in, and cooked it on low for 6 hours. Fall off the bone scrumptious. At 5 hours, I pulled the chicken into pieces so it could all simmer in the sauce. Easy and smelled heavenly. 2/3 cup vinegar seems excessive. For the liquids, I used 1 c chicken broth, 1/2 c vinegar, and 1/4 c soy sauce. Would do the same again. This is definately a recipe I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
My husband and I love adobo, even tho it has been years since either of us have eaten it. I was so excited about this recipe - but our double batch is going in the garbage. The vinegar is too overpowering, and my husband likes vinegar! He's trying it with sour cream (yuck) because we hate throwing away food. I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I first had Chicken Adobo when a Philipino co-worker brought it for lunch one day. It smelled SO good and she let me try it. After that I fell in love and she brought it for me all the time. I never did get her recipe and have since moved away. I searched and searched for a recipe that I think was similiar and finally found it with this recipe. It tastes almost identical! I add more garlic and bit more peppercorn. Smells so good while it's cooking. Hubby loves it! I serve it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This recipe was really good! I twirked it a little I added onion and red wine vinegar it was delicious my hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I have made this chicken adobo several times in the past few months and it has never failed to turn out great. My only call out would be to make sure that you are trully simmer this dish once covered- addressing that once the lid is on the pot this will make the temperature rise. Not simmering will reduce the liquid too much, make it overwhelmingly salty, and won't leave you with enough sauce to pour over your rice. Also, cut down the amt of vinegar to half. Using only dark meat definitely makes the dish more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilCoconut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
delicious. omg...this one is out of this world. mucho deliciouso. the only change i made is mixed both pork with skin and chicken steamed to tender before marinating removes most of the fat from both chicken and pork. ttry it youll like it melts in your mouth. serve with jasmine rice with this on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samreyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I forgot the ginger. Then again, a very similar recipe I used to use did not call for ginger. But it was still very good. I like this recipe because it is so simple- no chopping and little prep. Very forgiving on timing. One of my all time favorite recipes for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States