'Adios, Turkey' Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very good! Omitted the bell pepper and added 2 tsp or Cumin. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Made this exactly according to directions and it felt like something was missing -- added 1.5 cup of cooked rice and a total of 6 corn tortillas (cut into 1" squares) and it was much better. If you don't mind the calories, some sour cream would go great on top. A can of black beans might also go well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very good. Brought this to an office luncheon and everyone enjoyed it. Made it with corn tortillas and fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Not bad at all! I used frozen turkey leftovers that were a little dried out, and the dish came out moist and tasty! My 4 year old who hates turkey even ate some. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atipsycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
We loved this. Substituted broken corn tortillas crispy from the oven instead of putting the flour tortillas in because that was what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I just finished eating my 3rd helping of this. I did alter the recipe a bit to use up some leftover corn and mashed potatoes. I added about 1/2 cup whole kernel corn to the turkey mixture. After I had dumped the turkey mixture into a greased pan, I minced up about 1/8 cup jalapenos and about 1/8 cup onions. I added that to about 4 cups of mashed potatoes. I added 1/2 cup sour cream and 1 teaspoon minced garlic to the potato mixture and stirred it all up and then spread it atop the turkey. I baked it according to the directions but I did keep it covered with foil for the first hour. I added the cheese and bake it for 5 more minutes. I plan on making this according to the given directions, but I just wanted to use up all my leftovers and it turned out great. Kind of like a Mexican shepard's pie. Hubby and daughter gave it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Oops! I made a couple of mistakes when I used a large can of tomatoes (20 oz - just not paying attention) and left over gravy instead of the cream of chicken soup (to avoid the unnecessary salt). Those 2 choices added up to a thick stew rather than a casserole. The flavour was great although I will at least double the chili power if I do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I used 24 oz chicken. I used 1 3/4 cups of cheese instead of two cups. I omitted the mushrooms and used extra green pepper and onion instead. It was very good and filling. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious and just the right amount of "kick"! The only thing I did different was to use fresh mushrooms (I have a huge aversion to jarred mushrooms!) It was a big hit at my house. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by midwestchef
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I cannot follow a recipe w/o tweaking it - even my own. Fresh mushrooms, sauted in a little evoo and butter to add flavor and reduce moisture, make this even better. And sometimes I drain the Rotel to reduce the liquid as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States