Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Only put 1 cup of water, not two! Other than that, this is very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Good but too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These were addictive. I had to have two! My wife loved them also, and our picky two year old who only wants sugar filled food all the time enjoyed them. I took the advice of other reviewers and combined the sweet potato and red bean mash. That was easier and it tasted fantastic. I loaded them up with double the cheese and put olive oil on the outside of the tortillas before baking. The sweet potato I boiled, drained and mashed into the beans. I subsequently added no water to the mix. Served with guacamole, newman's own peach salsa, and sour cream spooned on top. yum! I have enough leftovers for the week too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan&Nicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Very good!! Love it! I do agree with smashing the beans before adding to the pan.. Much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Delicious and healthy. This will surely become part of our regular rotation. I topped it off with cottage cheese and salsa and next time will also be sure to add some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Really good! and definitely will try it again! I reduced the quantity of cumin and chili powder. Also, I used black beans... I was at first a little bit doubtfull of the whole idea but it turned out really well! I was so surprised with the good combination of the sweet potatoe and the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This is wonderful! Thanks for a great recipe! OI used only 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. I made it super easy by using 2 cans of refried black beans and 2 of whole black beans. Didn't have to mash anything. Used no water and can't imagine why it would be used. Didn't even use the water from the beans. Also, cooking sweet potatoes is very simple when you cut them into one inch slices and cook them for 30 minutes or less at 400 degrees. I lightly coat the slices with olive oil and a little sea salt. The skins slide right off after baking. used 2 fat pinches of the cayenne pepper too, and cooked the bean mixture just a couple of minutes after adding the spices. I used Dijon mustard! The way I like to finish these is by putting extra cheese on top of the burritos and covering lightly with foil, then heating for 25 minutes or so at 350 degrees. Make sure the foil does't stick to the cheese before heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Love this recipe! I am not typically a fan of any type of canned bean, but this was delicious. For a variation, I did saute some green pepper with the onion and garlic, and threw in some dashes of the dried spices as it cooked. As others have mentioned, you do not need that much water for the bean mixture. I used black beans and reserved the liquid from the can, used that plus just a bit of water. Before eating the burritos, I splashed on some hot sauce -- super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
the thing just seemed weird enough to try. after reading some reviews i went for the lazy route and used canned re-fried beans. i guess that was a mistake. it was definitely weird alright, but my father enjoyed them but then again he likes broccoli in his spaghetti. i just didn't care for it but i see how others could, i guess is what i'm saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Tried this last night and it was perfect for not only the vegetarian in my life but the rest of us as well. Usually the missing meat on our table is obvious but this dish didn't leave us wanting for it at all. I used 1/2 kidney and half black beans and used an immersion blender before adding the mixture to the onion and garlic mixture. I also didn't bake them, I put it all out for people to make their own. Combined with sour cream and guacamole they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States