Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This has become a meatless family favorite. Quick and easy. We, too, use black beans instead of kidney beans. Very nice mix of flavors. I hesitated making this at first as well, but so pleased I did…the whole family likes this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Soft texture, nice Mexican flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Used refried beans, just easier, and changed chili powder to Chipotle chile powder. gave it a richness in flavor straight chili powder doesn't have. Stuck burrito in microwave for 40 sec rather than oven. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Newton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
These are awesome. I'm vegan so I omitted the cheese. I added a tablespoon of nutritional yeast to the beans. I also used black beans because I'm not fond of kidney beans and I left some of the beans whole for some texture. I put a couple of dollops of vegan cream cheese before rolling up the burritos. I topped them with sliced avocado. So delicious and filling I think I could easily serve these to my carnivore friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
These are really great. I did follow the suggestions by Black Eye and omitted the water and added shriracha and sweet chili sauces--excellent. (I did use drained, canned black beans for expedience...) Also, I don't heat them in the regular oven. Don't want to dry them out, So I just wrap what I'm serving right away in damp paper towels and microwave for 1-2 minutes, add a dollop of plain Greek yogurt topped with a bit of salsa fresca and--yum! Since there's just the two of us, I take the rest (don't bother heating), wrap each one in a fold over sandwich bag and put them all in a gallon size freezer bag. These freeze and heat up beautifully in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Hubby fixed this and missed the sauté the onions and garlic first. Other than sautéing all the ingredients together he didn't have to go to Wendy's and gave dinner 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
i ONLY tried these cuz they said ADDICTIVE -- THEY ARE!! Very yummy, there is something about the sweetness of the potatoes and the heartiness of the kidney bean mixture that is truly magical (and these are SUPER SUPER EASY to make).. i've made so many recipes that are difficult that don't taste good at all..FINALMENTE!!!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Andrade

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I really liked this recipe but the hubs did not. He is not a sweet potato fan and saw me add them to the pan, so that might have had something to do with it! He did take two bites, per my request, and said the burritos were not addictive. I did not add any water to the recipe and mixed the beans with the sweet potatoes (in an effort to conceal the sweet potatoes from the hubs). I will make this again for my running friends as I can see them liking a high protein meal that is healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
These were very good and easy to make. I microwaved a big sweet potato cut in half with a little water in a glass dish for about 8 minutes turning once.The bean mixture came together quickly, I thought i added too much water but i just let it reduce a bit, which made all the spices fragrant. and used some grated almond pepper jack cheese. Instead of baking i used my panini press. I also used only one can of Simple Truth tribeans (black, pinto and kidney)and they were perfect for this recipe. It made 5 burritos in under 25 minutes.. not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Hight Bates
Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
made these 3 times with variations. the 3 things that seems to matter the most 1) a mixture of 2 types of beans,(red kidney and black for me) 2) something about baking them makes them so much better. get a little char going. come to think of it possibly good on the grill. topped with sour cream and salsa its like a vegetarian burrito that tastes like beans and beef but better. 3)I added more cheese per unit. nothing wrong with being healthy but we do need some calories to burn future experiment: needs a little more contrast in the texture. wanna say cauliflower but dont know why .. hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,711) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States