Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Love this recipe! I am not typically a fan of any type of canned bean, but this was delicious. For a variation, I did saute some green pepper with the onion and garlic, and threw in some dashes of the dried spices as it cooked. As others have mentioned, you do not need that much water for the bean mixture. I used black beans and reserved the liquid from the can, used that plus just a bit of water. Before eating the burritos, I splashed on some hot sauce -- super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
the thing just seemed weird enough to try. after reading some reviews i went for the lazy route and used canned re-fried beans. i guess that was a mistake. it was definitely weird alright, but my father enjoyed them but then again he likes broccoli in his spaghetti. i just didn't care for it but i see how others could, i guess is what i'm saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Tried this last night and it was perfect for not only the vegetarian in my life but the rest of us as well. Usually the missing meat on our table is obvious but this dish didn't leave us wanting for it at all. I used 1/2 kidney and half black beans and used an immersion blender before adding the mixture to the onion and garlic mixture. I also didn't bake them, I put it all out for people to make their own. Combined with sour cream and guacamole they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Used black beans instead of kidney (only reason I gave it four stars). It made so much bean filling that I had to freeze some of it for later. Very tasty and a little different twist on burritos. The savory/sweet combo was what gave it its uniqueness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Prepared per directions. Would be great with some avocado or guacamole as well. Thinking of trying them as enchiladas too. Awesome vegetarian selection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
We loved these! We have recently began a vegan diet so we did not add the cheese or sour cream and they were delicious!!!!!! So tasty. I had some fresh cilantro I needed to use up so I added that and it was even more wonderful. Definitely going to make some more and freeze to take to work to reheat. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've made this twice, and even though it requires a fair amount of prep work AND is a bit fussy, the end result is well worth it. You taste crunch and sweetness first and you're thinking, okay, that's different, then the spicy bean mixture hits and your mind is officially blown. Caveats that I would offer: 1) Choose the ginormous tortillas meant for burritos, not the smaller ones intended for soft tacos and fajitas. I never paid any attention to what's written on the different bags until this recipe. If you use the soft taco ones, adjust how much you fill them accordingly and -- bonus -- you'll make even more. 2) Eyeball how much water to add to the pan at the end; for me, over a cup was way too much and I ended up with a bean soup. 3) Watch the burrito assembly video tutorial or you'll end up with some funky-looking packages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe was easy and fairly good, but seemed like it was lacking something. My husband said he'd like it better if I'd have added rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This recipe is actually really good. Somehow the combination of sweet potato and cheese and slightly spicy beans works. The burritos reheat surprisingly well, so I often make a batch and take one every day for lunch. If you use smaller tortillas, these burritos also make good snacks. Anyway, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States