Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I really liked this recipe but the hubs did not. He is not a sweet potato fan and saw me add them to the pan, so that might have had something to do with it! He did take two bites, per my request, and said the burritos were not addictive. I did not add any water to the recipe and mixed the beans with the sweet potatoes (in an effort to conceal the sweet potatoes from the hubs). I will make this again for my running friends as I can see them liking a high protein meal that is healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
These were very good and easy to make. I microwaved a big sweet potato cut in half with a little water in a glass dish for about 8 minutes turning once.The bean mixture came together quickly, I thought i added too much water but i just let it reduce a bit, which made all the spices fragrant. and used some grated almond pepper jack cheese. Instead of baking i used my panini press. I also used only one can of Simple Truth tribeans (black, pinto and kidney)and they were perfect for this recipe. It made 5 burritos in under 25 minutes.. not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Hight Bates
Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
made these 3 times with variations. the 3 things that seems to matter the most 1) a mixture of 2 types of beans,(red kidney and black for me) 2) something about baking them makes them so much better. get a little char going. come to think of it possibly good on the grill. topped with sour cream and salsa its like a vegetarian burrito that tastes like beans and beef but better. 3)I added more cheese per unit. nothing wrong with being healthy but we do need some calories to burn future experiment: needs a little more contrast in the texture. wanna say cauliflower but dont know why .. hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I was skeptical about this recipe due to the sweet potatoes but my BF was adamant about it. Glad he was, these were delicious! Next time I will use 1/2 black beans, 1/2 kidney beans. I added some salsa to the bean mixture & will add cilantro next time. Can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
i tried this yesterday. It was simple and really yummy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I was a bit sceptical when I started mashing the beans (it didn't look too appetizing). After adding the potatoes and spices (I nearly doubled the amount of spices and added a pinch of cinnamon) it was already tasty. Together with the cheese they are perfect. I topped the burritos with sour cream and guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Just great! A healthy recipe truly doesn't comprise taste!.Based on other reviews I substituted kidney beans for black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Weird, interesting and ABSOLUTELY delicious. Followed the recipe for spices but used black beans. Always make the full recipe so I can freeze extra's for lunches. Very filling and a great non meat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
These are terrific! My husband used to be a "meat and potatoes only" kind of guy but I'm slowly converting him. He really likes these! They are super delicious with cholula sauce. The recipe makes several burritos, I wrap the extras in Saran Wrap and freeze them. They heat up nicely in a hot oven, I do 18-20 minutes in a 400 oven for reheat. I was out of mustard this time, still turned out great. Mustard is not necessary, but it does add a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
i made these exactly as the recipe shows. They taste like bean burros with sweet potato added, nothing more, nothing less- rather bland, unless you add more cheyenne pepper. It was a lot of work for something that really should be quite simple. Bean burros use pinto beans, you cook them until soft( this does take time), smash them up with a bunch of cheese and salt. Or you buy a can of refried beans. I'm more than willing to spend time making a good recipe, and honestly, once you add lettuce, sour cream, salsa , tomatoes and cheese to the top you can have nothing more than a cheese burro and it will taste great. I ate this without the toppings and with. Obviously with all the toppings it tasted great, just like a regular bean burro with toppings would have. Without the toppings it tasted just like a bean burro with sweet potatoes added. I would suggest if you want to have an idea of the taste, just get a can of refried beans, some cheese and cook some sweet potatoes. Put them together and warm through. My big problem is that this recipe took a lot of time and it really didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States