Addictive Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I omitted the chili paste since my daughter is allergic, but it was still very good. I also used a wok to cook the marinated chicken; however, cooked the sauce in a saucepan as recommended before adding it to the wok. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SophiaA.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
this recipes is fantastic!! I marinated the chicken overnight and the pieces came out tender and tasty. I also substituted some red wine for the sherry since it's what I had in my kitchen. I tried to make some egg rolls with the meal and they were disgusting so the sesame chicken really saved the meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Awesome! Only change to suit taste was to cut sesame oil in sauce down a bit. I will be making this again and again.....and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe! I doubled recipes had ( 4teenage guys to feed) turned out wonderful. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
did not care for this at all! much too sweet, texture was mushy, however I did not deep fry the chx, pan fried instead. Would not make this again. sadly disappointed in this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was good.. Would def. cut back on sesame oil.. would not cut back on the vinegar.. I did not have sherry, so I used shaoxing rice wine.. added broccoli.. probably won't make again.. missin something and have made "sesame chicken" many other ways that suit me better.. Thanks for letting me try your recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Our family loves Sesame Chicken, but we could not even eat this. My husband went to get take out instead. I will be looking for another recipe to try again as I would love to make this myself. I have made many asian dishes that we love but this was way too bland for us. Others have said something is missing and they are right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is NOT Mr. Lee's Sesame Chicken (Littleton, NH), but seeing as there is no such dish made here in Bolivia, this really hit the spot. My wife kept raving about this dish. I did not have the dry sherry, but I used the chinese wine that is often used in their sauces (sorry, don't remember the name of it). Also, I thought that there was not enough batter, so after frying the chicken I made another batch of 'batter' adding smashed garlic this time and refried the meat. Delicious! As far as the sauce is concerned, I did it according to recipe to see how it would turn out. I felt that it lacked its 'redness', so I took Mr. Lee's advice and squirted in some ketchup and that did the trick. It has been at least 3 years since I had this dish, so this really hit the spot. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I had to change a few things in this recipe due to what I had on hand and it was still really good. I'm sure if I followed the recipe exactly it would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
DELICIOUS recipe. The only thing I did differently was frying the chicken in a large skillet, when the chicken was browned and ready I poured out the oil. Instead of pouring the sauce on the chicken on a platter, I poured the sauce in the skillet and let it simmer for 3-5 minutes. It gave the chicken more flavor and let the sauce soak into the meat more. Finally served over jasmine rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e.noell2692

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States