Addictive Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe except for adding chili paste. I agree with the reviewer who said something was missing. That special zing you get from real chinese was lacking, but I was glad I could make this dish and know everything that was going into what my family was eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sPi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Other then the fact the sauce was more like candy then sauce...this dish was fine. Husband really loved it. I thought it was missing something. Flavors were not as bold as I thought it would be. It also borders on way too much sugar. Oh! Don't forget the sesame seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I felt it was missing something although I didn't have sesame oil or seeds which may have been the problem. I did roll the chicken in flou before frying to make them a bit more crispy. Overall it turned out well. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good. Really just made the sauce. I think I'll leave out the water next time for a more intense flavor. I used 3/4 cup vinegar, red pepper flakes rather than chili paste, brown sugar rather than white sugar and soup base rather than chicken stock. (Snowed in and had to use what I had on hand!) Tossed the chicken pieces in seasoned corn starch and sauted in oil. Turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I only used the sauce part of this recipe, but I can tell you that it is amazing! NOTE to self: red pepper paste is NOT the same as red chile paste. Don't substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Absolutely perfect! Completely satisfied my craving for take-out sesame chicken, but it was even better. The only substitutions I made were for lack of listed ingredients: red wine instead of sherry and red pepper flakes instead of red chile paste. Otherwise, I followed the instructions to the T and it came out amazing. The family couldn't believe I made it in less than 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paralee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was a great recipe and was a hit with my family and friends. It was pretty easy to make, the only changes I have made are to marinate my chicken longer than 20 minutes so it has a bit more flavor and also when making the sauce I use only 1 TBLS of sesame oil. It can be a bit strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENNIFER LAUGHLIN
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really good. I couldn't get the red chile paste so I substituted ground red pepper. My 3 year daughter even enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER LAUGHLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was a bit involved to make, but totally worth it. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a little time consuming to make, but it is by far the easiest and tastiest sesame chicken recipe that I have found so far. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States