Addictive Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I added carrots and pineapple to mine for fruits and vegetable value. Mom said it was one of the best meals I've made. Delicious, sweet, and pretty easy to make. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Easy and Excellent, though my son actually thought it was "too sweet" so I guess next time I'll try with less sugar. Perfect with a side of steamed broccoli and cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyanna Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Sesame Chicken or sesame anything is my favorite Chinese dish, but I hardly ever get to eat it because the majority of places that serve this dish use MSG which my hubby is extremely sensitive to. Gives him a migraine any time he eats MSG. It is nice to find a recipe that is msg free and tastes excellent! I too coated the chicken in corn starch before I added it to the batter. I also added a little minced ginger to the sauce since I love a little ginger in my sesame sauce. I wanted something green and didn't have any traditional veges to go with this dish. All I had was some French asparagus. I cut them into 2 inch pieces, coated them in olive oil, sprinkled with garlic salt and powdered ginger, then coated in corn starch. I then fried them until they floated to the top of the oil. My hubby was raving about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Fine but not great. Followed the recipe exactly. Probably wouldn't bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This recipe got rave reviews from my picky eater! She even ate the broccoli I added saying that it tasted perfect with the sauce. So I left out the sherry cuz I forgot to get some, used chili oil instead of paste (I want to try that next time). Then I didn't deep fry the chicken, instead I put it in a frying pan and cooked for a bit with and without a lid. Finally I added a bit of water to the pan with broccoli and snap peas and covered to steam briefly then served with rice. I will certainly double the chicken this recipe next time! Thanks for a good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is an great recipe. The only change I made was t not deep frying the chicken. Instead I lightly coated a skillet with canola oil and fried the chicken this way. The marinade gave each piece a nice crisp golden brown coating. It also helped me not feel so guilty using the 2 cups of sugar in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Excellent! I doubled the recipe and the only thing I did different was to add just 1 cup of sugar instead of the two required for doubling. I also didn't have sherry, so I left that out. No one noticed a difference. I also cooked the chicken in just 2 teaspoons of canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is addictive! Great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
A bit complex for me. I thought it turned out fairly well. Little surprised at how much sugar goes into the sauce. I like it better then when I eat it at a buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Delicious!! I substituted a few things. I couldn't find red chili paste, so I used 1/4 teaspoon of chili powder instead. I also substituted the white vinegar for rice vinegar, and instead of a clove of garlic I used 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. My husband loved the recipe!! He said it is one of his favorite recipes that I make, and definitely wants it again!! I served it with plain white rice seasoned with soy sauce. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States