Addictive Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
DELICIOUS recipe. The only thing I did differently was frying the chicken in a large skillet, when the chicken was browned and ready I poured out the oil. Instead of pouring the sauce on the chicken on a platter, I poured the sauce in the skillet and let it simmer for 3-5 minutes. It gave the chicken more flavor and let the sauce soak into the meat more. Finally served over jasmine rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e.noell2692

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe except for adding chili paste. I agree with the reviewer who said something was missing. That special zing you get from real chinese was lacking, but I was glad I could make this dish and know everything that was going into what my family was eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sPi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Other then the fact the sauce was more like candy then sauce...this dish was fine. Husband really loved it. I thought it was missing something. Flavors were not as bold as I thought it would be. It also borders on way too much sugar. Oh! Don't forget the sesame seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I felt it was missing something although I didn't have sesame oil or seeds which may have been the problem. I did roll the chicken in flou before frying to make them a bit more crispy. Overall it turned out well. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good. Really just made the sauce. I think I'll leave out the water next time for a more intense flavor. I used 3/4 cup vinegar, red pepper flakes rather than chili paste, brown sugar rather than white sugar and soup base rather than chicken stock. (Snowed in and had to use what I had on hand!) Tossed the chicken pieces in seasoned corn starch and sauted in oil. Turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I only used the sauce part of this recipe, but I can tell you that it is amazing! NOTE to self: red pepper paste is NOT the same as red chile paste. Don't substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Absolutely perfect! Completely satisfied my craving for take-out sesame chicken, but it was even better. The only substitutions I made were for lack of listed ingredients: red wine instead of sherry and red pepper flakes instead of red chile paste. Otherwise, I followed the instructions to the T and it came out amazing. The family couldn't believe I made it in less than 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paralee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was a great recipe and was a hit with my family and friends. It was pretty easy to make, the only changes I have made are to marinate my chicken longer than 20 minutes so it has a bit more flavor and also when making the sauce I use only 1 TBLS of sesame oil. It can be a bit strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENNIFER LAUGHLIN
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really good. I couldn't get the red chile paste so I substituted ground red pepper. My 3 year daughter even enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER LAUGHLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was a bit involved to make, but totally worth it. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States