Addictive Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I'm a vegetarian so I only made the sauce from the second part of the recipe, and it was the best sesame sauce I've ever made -- better than my favorite restaurant's! I made a couple of changes: veggie broth for chicken; bumped the vinegar to 3/8 cup; brown sugar instead of white; red pepper flakes instead of chili paste; 3 cloves of garlic. Instead of boiling the sauce as the recipe suggests, I stir-fried the garlic in the sesame oil then added my fake meat and veggies, then added everything else. I stirred in cornstarch until I was happy with the consistency so I probably used less than called for in the recipe. But the sauce was nice and thick, and a wonderful combination of sweet and tangy. This is one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This looks like a variation (or the other is a variation of this LOL) of the Perfect Sesame Chicken also posted here on Allrecipes. ANd it's GREAT! if you want a really wonderful lower fat/carb version, marinate the chicken in the liquids and DUST marinated chicken with onlypart of the cornstarch. Dry fry or use 1tsp at a time of peanut oil in a non stick wok until cooked. Dump the sugar and use 2/3c sucralose and always use apple cider vinegar. use half the amount of cornstartch to thicken or use arrowroot powder. Traditional sauces (according to my Chinese friends) are a bit thinner than the thick styles. Just by not deep frying the meat, you can save hube amounts of fat calories and cutting the sugar and the cornstartch removes much of the carb count too. This recipe is great as it is... but I'm just saying you can low fat-lower carb this dish so even those on special diets can enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I have made this several times and am just getting to rating it. DELISH! Better then any chinese food take out.Didn't change a thing in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkford, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Flavor profile is there. Tastes excellent. I was looking for slightly crispier chicken but pleasantly surprised. I had my oil too hot so i flash fried the chicken and finished in the oven @375 for 15 minutes. Perfect! Next time i may try peanut oil instead of canola for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenet_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe except for adding chili paste. I agree with the reviewer who said something was missing. That special zing you get from real chinese was lacking, but I was glad I could make this dish and know everything that was going into what my family was eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sPi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was spectacular. Didn't take a long time to make. Super great results. My boyfriend who only likes meat, cheese and potatoes loved it :) I would recommend dousing the chicken pieces with cornstarch before putting it in the mixture to refrigerate and fry a tad longer for extra crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COBHC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daly City, California, USA
Photo by JENNIFER LAUGHLIN
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really good. I couldn't get the red chile paste so I substituted ground red pepper. My 3 year daughter even enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER LAUGHLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was a bit involved to make, but totally worth it. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was so good! had fantastic flavors will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
We really liked this, even my hubby and he's not the Chinese food fan that I am. It was quite spicy, I might tone that down a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States