Addictive Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lobashi
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
i didn't want to rate this recipe with stars because i made a lot of changes (thus a rating technically wouldn't be accurate), but i couldn't submit a review without a rating, so i'm giving it 5 stars for versatility. i scaled the recipe down to 12 muffins, used 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup all-purpose flour, used starfruit (carambola) pulp instead of applesauce, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree, and used ginger instead of nutmeg (didn't have any). i also added 4 tbsp of whole flax seed for a nutty texture. The muffins rose nicely, were very fluffy and not dense. They were just faintly sweet, which which i prefer (i don't have much of a sweet tooth). i used paper liners, and the only drawback was that the muffins stuck to the liners. next time i would use a non-stick spray. but overall, great recipe to start with. i've included a picture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
These just came out of the oven, and they're wonderful! I made a few changes to make them even healthier: cranberries instead of raisins, 2 cups of white flour and 2 3/4 cups of an equal mix of ground flaxseed, oatmeal and whole wheat flour, and only 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of Splenda. The muffins came out very moist and are still sweet (which is saying a lot, since I have the biggest sweet tooth ever!). I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEMONSTER803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
These muffins are a staple in our household. I use whole wheat flour instead of white and chocolate chips instead of raisins. I also just do 2 1/4 t cinnamon and 2 1/4 t nutmeg (I don't do the ground cloves.) It's a great healthy snack. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I cut this recipe in half. I used 1 c whole wheat flour, 1 cup all purpose flour and 1/2 cup ground flax seed. egg beaters, and 1/2 c splenda 1/2 c reg sugar.They were plenty sweet! Very moist, high fiber and filled with good stuff. I love this recipe..it was very easy to convert to a healthy recipe. I did not use paper liners. I used a nonstick muffin pan..they came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
ADDICTIVE is right!!! My picky two-year old and I absolutely love these muffins. Very nutritious. Even better after being in the freezer. I found it was much easier to just grease the muffin pans and not use the paper cups. I spent too much time peeling the muffins from the paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This was my first time to make muffins w/o oil and they were amazing. I did make a few changes though. I substituted molasses for the raisins because my kids won't eat them and used an egg replacer. I also used half whole wheat flour and half unbleached and also used half sugar substitute and half sugar. Next time I will try adding shredded carrots to knock back some of the sugar without having to add a substitute. Wonderful and nutritious muffins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These are excellent! I made half a batch and they were all gone by the next day, I used whole wheat instead of white flour, and half Splenda/half Splenda Brown Sugar Blend instead of sugar. I also left out the nuts for my son's who is allergic. I made mini muffins which only took about 12 minutes to bake. So tasty!! The whole famiky could not get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
These are sooooo yummy, but I made some modifications - personal preference. I use whole wheat flour and cut way back on the sugar. I also use egg substitute. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Good and easy. My hubby likes it better without the raisins, so I make half the batch without and half with and that way, my muffins have more raisins. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Wonderful!! I used less sugar per other reviews (about 3/4 cup rather than 1 1/3 cups for 1/3 the recipe), otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I don't understand any of the negative reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States