Addictive Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I am just not fast enough to put this together in 15 min. But it's great t have a recipe that makes a large quantity. I love that. The bones of the recipe are invaluable. I did eliminate 1cup sugar. The muffins were not as light as they would have been otherwise, but they were still plenty sweet. I don't really like cloves so I changed the spices to 1T cinnamon,1/2 t ginger, and 1/4 t nutmeg. These are just the right size. I scooped the dough from the bowl into my muffin tins with an ice cream scoop and came up with exactly 3 dozen. And one just fills me up. So much to love about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Really nice recipe. I just made these for my son. I halved the recipe and made 6 large and 12 small muffins. I cooked them for about 25 min. Left out the raisins, used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and used allspice rather than cloves. I think this recipe is very forgiving as I did not measure carefully - came out perfectly! My son wants me to make them with chocolate chips next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
These were kind of blah. I've made a lot of different pumpkin muffin recipes and I'm still in search of the perfect one. There isn't nearly enough cinnamon in them and they need some pumpkin pie spice to give them flavor. It seems like what they lack in spicy flavor, they make up for in sugar. They aren't horrible but I wouldn't make them again. I didn't exactly follow the recipe, though, so keep that in mind. I halved the recipe and made them with 1/2 cup dark brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white (for 18 muffins). I don't like things particularly sweet and two cups of sugar is way too sweet to be called a muffin. I usually only put 1/4 cup sugar in a dozen muffins and they are just right. Even though I reduced the sugar and used a very moist dark brown sugar, the batter was very dry. I had to add another 1/4 cup of applesauce or so. The other thing I had to adjust was the cooking time. I made a dozen standard muffins and the rest were mini muffins. The mini muffins were done in 15 and the standard in about 18. The batter would have to be very wet to need 35 minutes to bake. I make muffins all the time and they never take more than about 22 minutes for me. They did stick somewhat to the muffin liners. I didn't find them too difficult to remove for the most part but I would suggest greasing the muffin tins instead, if you make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made these yesterday with 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 white and used just a little oil because I didn't have applesauce. They are so delicious!! I made 12 and froze 1/2 of them. Next time I might add a few mini chips too. Will definitely make again! (one note - I used the servings option on the recipe and changed to 12. I was surprised when it filled the muffin tins up to the top but it worked)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The muffins were a little spongy, but overall pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Really yummy. Used gluten free flower mix, organic coconut oil, no applesauce so used a mashed banana, added 3/4 cup chopped walnuts. They are too sweet for me so next time I will use less sugar and will try other sweetner ideas. This will be my pumkin muffin recipe now. Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made a smaller batch of these and used butter in place of applesauce. I added a streusel topping. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very good... the only change I made was adding mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Subbed one cup of honey instead of all that white sugar, used oat flour instead if all purpose and these are still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
These were pretty good. I used part wheat flour and a few chocolate chips instead of raisins. Reduced the sugar a bit. It made 48 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States