Addictive Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is one of those recipes that use a long list of ingredients in a vain attempt to create a complex flavor. Cream cheese + Sour Cream + Whipping Cream = Redundant Calories. Cut the creams down to one…I recommend sour cream to keep the potatoes creamy and not too dense. Cream cheese works well too…just choose one or the other. If you need to adjust the consistency, try a little milk. The sugar is pointless – there’s not enough to make even a slight flavor difference in so many potatoes. The chicken bouillon does make a nice flavor enhancer for potatoes, but if you use it, cut the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
The ingredients sound a bit strange but it works! I left out the cream cheese, only because I realized I was out at the last minute, but it was still really good. It tasted a little like those french fried onions you put on green bean casserole. I will definitely make again (with cream cheese the next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castroville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
"OH MY GOD!!!!!" were the 1st 3 words out of about 5 peoples mouths when they tasted these today. What a hit. I doubled the recipe and there were almost no leftovers :) Thanks babybeeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I didn't have all the ingredients, for ex:whipping cream, parm cheese, parsley, but nonetheless this was amazing!! I loved them! this is definitely a no fail recipe! You wont have to follow it to the T. It's an awesome blueprint to add and remove to your own tastes. Excellent 5 stars I say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I'm only giving this one 4 stars because there was just too much going on, flavor-wise. They were yummy, that's for sure - don't know about "addictive" though. I'll make them again, but I'll probably leave out a few ingredients, like the soy sauce and the chicken bouillon granules. They both added a lot of salt and I thought they were kind of unnecessary. Other than that, very tasty! Oh, and good news, you can make them ahead of time and reheat them just fine if you know you're not going to have time to make them the night that you need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
The best mashed potatoes ever! I made them for my parents and in-laws and everyone loved them. I used half and half instead of whipping cream, because the store was out. They were so good, we had to lick the beaters so none would go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Dad-gum these are good..my husband and I scraped the bottom of the bowl!!! I had to use assagio in it, because I had run out of Parmesan! Fabulous anyway! Hats off to the chef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
These are now a tradition at my home. Its a little more work gathering the ingredients but this side dish might just out-shine whatever you are serving it with! By the way, caramelizing the onions takes time but they are heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I thought maybe this would end up tasting like something from TGIF or Applebees...just ended up tasting like flavors that didn't blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I made these tonight for dinner, and they were delicious! The name "addictive" is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States