Addictive Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
These taste delicious! I would recommend after melting the chocolate and putting in the cream and vanilla to spread the chocolate out on a pan with wax paper and stick it in the freezer for about 30-45 minutes- enough to where you can roll the chocolate into a ball with your hands. Use a spoon to scrap the chocolate into the size you prefer. By this time, it shouldn't be sticky and should be easier to cover with chocolate too. I used Kroger white chocolate candy coating for the outside layer. Once I was finished coating them I stuck the tray in the refrigerator over night. They were fantastic! My friends and family (especially kids) loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is an excellent recipe - very easy to make and everyone loves them so they don't last long. I used toothpicks to coat them, which makes it much easier and not messy at all. I also used butterscotch flavoured chips which made them taste fantastic. Experimenting with different chocolate, flavours, and chips until you find the right one for you is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were way more trouble than they were worth. I used expensive Belgian chocolate so they'd be really good, but it was such a hassle, and made such a mess. I had chocolate up to my elbows. I added mint to one batch, and it did make a good french mint flavor, but I would have rather just eaten my chocolate bars without all the trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I was not impressed by these truffles. My idea of a perfect truffle is one that can even be delicious if no flavoring is added. This truffle is mediocre, only if you add a flavored extract. Even then, they are lacking. They are not smooth or rich, but almost taste like you are biting into an old Hershey bar. I used Ghirardelli chocolate, and it still turned out bland! Another problem with this recipe is unless you are making teeny tiny truffles, there is no way you will get 50 out of this. Even after making them smaller than regular truffles, I only got 30. I will stick to my Alton Brown truffles from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shneeky shnake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
These are absolutely DELICIOUS! I made these for my boyfriend for our two-year anniversary/Valentines day, and he LOVED them (as well as my mom and her friends). I used Ghirardelli chocolate and also, after they had been dipped in the semisweet chocolate, I sprinkled a little bit of sea salt on them, as I think it tastes amazing that way. Great recipe! I'm already planning on making it again sometime this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very simple and easy. They look beautiful an taste wonderful! I used milk instead of the cream an they came out fine. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacyd123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chelle
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
these were pretty good, but I'd stick to the basic recipe, I tried to mix it up a bit by using a bit of marshmallow cream with the center, not a good idea, however I did add mint flavoring to it and that was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These were so easy to make and they were so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
i always wanted to try to make some truffles, now i know they are more trouble then they're worth. very rich & messy to make & a lot of work for not a lot of reward. can't make with kids around, too fast paced trying to get them back in the fridge all the time. i'll stick with cookies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
this is a simple and yummy recipe. when i made it instead of using the light cream i used flavored coffee creamer (hazelnut and vanilla), it set up wonderfully and gave the chocolate a hint of more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States