Addicting Chip Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
This is excellent tried it cautiously but it is soooooooooooooo good have made it 3 times in the past 2 weeks.. I used whole anchovies instead of paste though will have anchovies stocked in my pantry from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
Be sure to leave this dip to chill, so that the flavors will blend. It's not half as good if you don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2000
What a great dip! It was the hit of the party. Everyone wanted the recipe. Easy to make. The other reviewer must not have made it right. I used a white onion to grate in and boy, what a great 'oniony' flavor. The anchovie paste was such a surprise, it must be the key to the grea flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This came out so DISGUSTING. I am not exactly sure what it was supposed to taste like, but it came out REALLY gross. My boyfriend thought that it was some kind of bad joke. We didn't eat any of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2000
This tastes like cream cheese with onions. No different from anything you could get in a store. Not a lick-clean recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Everyone has their own personal likes and dislikes so I can't say that this recipe is disgusting or not addicting for someone who likes cream cheese. To each their own, I say. I have been making an anchovy dip for 30 years that I use for steak, preferably steak fondue. It includes all of the ingredients mentioned but only 1-8 oz pkg cream cheese, up to 2 tablespoons anchovy paste (your preference), 1 tablespoon chives, 1 tablespoon minced onion (I prefer green onion with their tops), 1 clove minced garlic, a teaspoon lemon juice and a teaspoon of Worcestershire. There's no particular order, just mix it up and let it chill to combine their wonderful flavors. This is a fun recipe in that you can add olives, pimento, chopped artichokes, etc. I'm getting ready to make bacon wrapped stuffed jalapeno poppers with it. I'll bet it will be great but steak, in my opinion, is the best use of this dip by far. Oh, and also don't be afraid to use the paste, that is what makes the flavor so perfect and I would never eat anchovies any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2000
this dip was OK. i would not bother to make it again.i added more anchovy paste and it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is easy to make and so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
I DOUBLED the amount of anchovy paste, DOUBLED the grated onion and DOUBLED the garlic, chilled for 12 hours and this was still a pretty bland dip. Not bad, but in no way ADDICTING! I pretty much had a full bowl left by the end of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
This recipe calls for garlic powder, but it doesn't say when to put it in and the recipe also says to add anchovy paste, but that's not in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States