Addicting Chip Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I don't know what everyone has been doing! This dip is crazy addicting. I've made it 10+ times now for family get togethers, and every time I see people scraping the bowl! I have one secret, I use fresh garlic straight from my food processor and leave the dip in the fridge overnight. This dip has been delicious with chips, pretzels, grain crackers, rice crackers, veggies, and I always make extra for when I make my turkey party wraps. If you want to be daring, add cheese as a topping. I've had success with fresh parmesan! If you didn't like it the first time, give it another go with fresh garlic and make sure it is mixed very well. The recipe says to whip the final ingredients with a fork, but I always use my electric hand mixer. When you get it right, it will have your friends and relatives gathered around the food table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JVarriano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This dip is outstanding!My sister made this just to have something to try and to snack on and my 11 year old son (which a picky eater)really enjoyed this dip with crackers.He kept on saying how good it is. We will definitely be making this dip again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2000
What a great dip! It was the hit of the party. Everyone wanted the recipe. Easy to make. The other reviewer must not have made it right. I used a white onion to grate in and boy, what a great 'oniony' flavor. The anchovie paste was such a surprise, it must be the key to the grea flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This dip is delicious! My 4 year old son has been enjoying it with potato chips, and he keeps saying how good it is. I will definitely be making this dip again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I love this recipe. As a child my father made a dip very simular to this and when I came across this recipe I had to try it and it tastes just like dad's thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is amazing. I found this recipe a few years ago and have made it more times then I can count! Unfortunately I developed an allergy to onion a year ago and can't eat this anymore. I've been meaning to try it with garlic or asafetida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boombatine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Loved it! My 7 yr old daughter just asked me to make it again, and she knows what's in it :) It really is addicting - the flavors go really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this and took the advice of other reviewers and added the green onion and fresh minced garlic. After letting the flavors meld for 2 hrs, it was great!! Served it with crackers. For those that find this bland, put spices in that you would like, I happen to love cream cheese so this was perfect for me, if you arent a fan, try less or add more garlic etc but be sure to let the flavors "marry" for a bit in the fridge. Will be making this again over and over. Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Soooooo good.......I did have to up the anchovy paste a lot ( used almost a tube but I doubled t he recipe) but it was awesome. Everyone loved it and one dad at the party took a whole cup of it home. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfreeman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Can't wait to try this with the addition of the anchovy. My first memory of this chip dip is at least 42 years ago. My Grandma from Milwaukee had this at every holiday at her house. She is the one who taught me that "double dipping" was not acceptable. She caught me when I was 7 or 8 years old and the dip was thrown out.........never double dipped again (at least not when grandma was looking!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States