Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I'm lebanese, and this soup is very popular in my country. Like all receipies it has several variants. Like a variant we use crushed dried corriander instead of crushed dried mint, chopped chard instead of spinach and the crushed garlic with the lemon . Give it a try it's really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
GREAT! I finally found a reliable lentil soup! I did add an extra tablespoon of dried mint and only 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice. It is a great base to add other spices if you want or just enjoy as it is! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was wonderful and so easy to make. The flavors are perfect. I used chicken stalk and fresh spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was ok the first night but DH wouldn't eat the leftovers, preferring to eat basically anything else in the fridge, which is extremely unusual for him. Can't give it more than 3 stars :( We much prefer the "Lentil Soup with Lemon" recipe on here that has you blend the lentils up. Thanks for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
It smelled GREAT, but tasted a bit bland. I think it might be better cooked in chicken stock. We added some parmesan cheese and balsamic vinegar to it, which was pretty good but probably not authentic. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is delicious and very easy to cook-- I made it earlier this week and have been enjoying the leftovers over the past few days. My husband loves it, too. As it sits, the flavors just get better. This is going to become part of our regular meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
When I first made this soup I didn't really like it on the first try. It was pretty bland. After letting it sit for a day and let all the flavors blend together I really liked it. But this is a very basic, rustic, super healthy and vegan soup so keep that in mind. Very very easy to make and cheap too! Definitely use vegetable stock instead of water, make sure to add salt and use fresh lemon juice and fresh spinach. Serve with warm pita bread and it's quite delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is a delicious and easy-to-make dish! I followed the tips that other reviewers gave and replaced the water with vegetable stock and used fresh spinach and fresh lemon juice. I put the left overs in the fridge and had it cold the next day, which was very nice as well. Makes it a very nice summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Not enough flavor. The lemon water just wasn't a strong enough base for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Great recipe. I used a mixture of Vegetable broth/water and also used only 1/2 Tablespoon of dried mint. Sea salt and pepper to taste. Gave the kids some without the lemon juice and then added the lemon juice for my husband and me. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States