Adams Family Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Awesome awesome awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This duck was AMAZING! Of course, starting with good products helps, but this recipe resulted in a juicy, well-prepared duck and a wonderful sauce/gravy! I would definitely recommend the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Esbjerg, Syddanmark, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cleola
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I used Mary's organic duck. I splashed some dry sherry inside and let it sit for 30 min while prepairing the rest. Used more apples and no carrots, following an advise of previous user. Didnit use a lemon juice, but sherry for basting....I added some nutmeg, clove, orange zest, few haselnuts, walnuts and also few pitted sour cherries to stuffing of apples, sweet onion and raisins. Baked duck together with apples in the roasting pan. It came out ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! It was tasting as old world game! Served with rosmary mash pottoes...yammm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this duck for Christmas and everyone loved it. I made two ducks, and I doubled the stuffing mixture, plus I added about 1/2 cup of fresh cranberries. I read the reviews, but I decided to add the carrots to the pan, and next time I would add more carrots and onions to serve with the dinner-they were delicious! When I was chopping the onion, I chopped it a little small for the stuffing, and then chopped some larger onion for the pan. Next time I would chop all of the onion somewhat larger. I made 1 1/2 times the basting sauce (and used white cranberry juice instead of lemon juice) and stock, but it makes a lot of sauce. Next time I would not increase the stock or basting sauce recipe for two ducks. (The sauce was delicious and definitely worth the effort!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Turned out great! Put the stuffing in the duck stock and rendered it down to make a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REOlsen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We had never roasted duck before. For a Christmas dinner for six, we roasted two six-pound ducks following this recipe with only a few changes. Our ducks were already heavily browned after a half hour, so we lowered them in the oven and covered them with foil. We removed them from the oven after two hours when the thermometer read 172 degrees F. In retrospect, we probably should have cooked them longer because the flesh around the bone, though warm, was still reddish pink. Our stuffing included cranberries, and we sauteed the onions. Everyone raved over the recipe, which we joined with sauteed brussels sprouts, sauteed spinach, garlic mashed potatoes, red wine, and flan. Another change we made was to add a second sauce made from a reduction of about one-third cup of balsamic vinegar, one-third cup of raspberry preserves, a splash of red wine, and a splash of chicken stock with salt, pepper, and cinnamon. (Next time I would probably thicken with cornstarch.) Boil, then reduce the heat and strain the mixture to remove the seeds. Our guests preferred this more pungent sauce for the duck. Thank you Adams Family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REOlsen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Made this for a large family Christmas dinner, along with a ham for those who said they didn't like duck. After dinner we all agreed that... Next year we have 2 ducks and NO HAM! -for this ham lov'in bunch...that's big! Thanks Adams family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carobb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Duck was good. Recipe was complex. I used cranberries instead of raisens. The only thing I would change is the carrots. They where hard. I believe mushrooms would of cooked better. I added fresh Tyme to my stock. Served with potatoes and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loud Duck
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe as it was my first time trying out duck. However I wasn't a big fan having fruit for the stuffing. I found the fruit inside to taste different than I really thought it would have been. Other than that I love the taste of the meat. Very flavorful, I would recommend having some red wine! I also found that duck can really feed only 2. There isn't a lot of meat on duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States