Adam's Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I was very disappointed with this recipe. It was dry and hard but I will say it had good flavor. As for the batter it came out as a crumble crust texture.I have to wonder if there is a missing ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
OMG, one of the best apple cakes ever. Nice and crunchy on top and then super moist inside. As some of the other reviewers noted, the batter was very thick, but after I added in the chopped apples it got more moist. The apples add some extra sweet flavoring, so keep that in mind when measuring out the sugar. I used less sugar than what the recipe called for. Also, I think the apples add extra moistness to the cake. I had chopped mine up to small pieces. I will definitely be making this again. Totally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Just finished making this cake. It is delicious. I read the problem other reviewers had with their mixers and this batter. I had no problem. I have a heavy duty kitchen aid, and it handled it with no problem. I watched the video and saw that the apples were added to the bowl and stirred using the mixer. This gave more moisture to the batter, but the integrity of the apples remained in tact. It was a big hit with family and friends. I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This cake was AWESOME! At first I thought I did something wrong because the mix was so thick... But it came out amazing... My husband is not much of a cake eater... But he had 2 pieces the first time and then took 2 pieces to wrok every day until it was gone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaldt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
lovely moist tasty cake will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hornybull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I made this as last minute desert to take to a friend..ran out of sugar,had one cup so substituted about 1/2 cup honeyotherwise followed recipe...i am not a baker but this turned out delicious...its awesome and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Okay... in short this turned out delicious. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but I used butter instead of oil and consequently had to add about 1/2 a cup of milk - and nutmeg. I loooove nutmeg. My batter looked NOTHING like Adam's in the video. It was incredibly sticky and after cutting up only 3 avg sized apples, the bowl was more apple than batter... uh oh. Then I realize there is no 9X13 pan where I'm staying. 9X7?? Yikes. It's all I have; let's try it! After a good 70 minutes it was cooked through, 3 inches high, beautifully browned, and dense (more a bread than a cake, which I liked). I will make this again and again, and I truly don't think I'd make it any differently! I loved it! My husband loved it! (That said, I'm sitting here thinking I'd add some cranberries or raspberries for some 'bite'. Yum!) * At about the half hour mark I added a brown sugar and cinnamon topping and did cover the cake with foil for the last 20+ minutes of cooking. I absolutely recommend this cake! Don't compare yours to the video! (Was it the oil substitution that did it? Not sure...). Note: I am irked by ppl who rate things 5 stars yet have made several alterations to a recipe. I'm giving 5 because I "loved it", it's true, and I feel my modifications were because I had to work with what I had - a 9X7 pan - and I try never to use vegetable oil in anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Made this apple coffee cake this morning. The basic recipe was very good. I did change some ingredients to make the cake more diet friendly. Instead of 3/4 cup of oil, I used 1/3 cup oil and 1/2 cup chunky applesauce to lessen the fat content. Also, I used 3/4 cup Egg Beaters instead of 3 eggs. I substituted one of the cups of white sugar with Splenda. The spice amounts were good. I baked the cake for 48 minutes. My husband ate 2 pieces of it before it barely cooled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Too sweet, more of a bread texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I have made this cake about 5 times and each time has been wonderful. I always add too many apples. Perfect. Today I made it with pears. I had some oranges that I needed to use to I soaked the cut up pears in orange juice and a bunch of zest. I put some crumble on top. Super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States