Adam's Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I made this because I wanted to make a dessert with apples that was not my signature apple pie. I was not disappointed. I made the cake exactly as written (except I added a 1/2 cup of milk because the batter was so dry it was crumbly) and topped it with a cream cheese icing consisting of 8 oz cream cheese, 2 cups powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and a splash of milk. Next time I'll add a couple tablespoons of butter to the icing, but not change a thing about the cake. My son declared he wants this cake for his 18th birthday cake. I will definitely make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Delicious as is and easy!! When hot out of the oven, I topped the cake with a drizzle of Maple Syrup or Pancake Syrup. Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Brought this to our girls weekend away, and everyone just loved it. The addition of walnuts worked great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My family loved this, along with everyone else I made try it =). I did do half brown sugar, and only 2 1/2 apples. Baked 45 minutes and melted cinnamon butter on top when I removed it from the oven and then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
really quick easy recipe cant wait to make it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this cake today & it is AWESOME!!!! I followed the recipe exactly as written (otherwise I couldn't give it a fair review). Texture & taste was just wonderful. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Very easy to make. Only used 3 apples and it was plenty!! Four would have been too much. Very heavy dense cake, but tasted ok. Hubby not happy with such a heavy cake. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I was very disappointed with this recipe. It was dry and hard but I will say it had good flavor. As for the batter it came out as a crumble crust texture.I have to wonder if there is a missing ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
OMG, one of the best apple cakes ever. Nice and crunchy on top and then super moist inside. As some of the other reviewers noted, the batter was very thick, but after I added in the chopped apples it got more moist. The apples add some extra sweet flavoring, so keep that in mind when measuring out the sugar. I used less sugar than what the recipe called for. Also, I think the apples add extra moistness to the cake. I had chopped mine up to small pieces. I will definitely be making this again. Totally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Just finished making this cake. It is delicious. I read the problem other reviewers had with their mixers and this batter. I had no problem. I have a heavy duty kitchen aid, and it handled it with no problem. I watched the video and saw that the apples were added to the bowl and stirred using the mixer. This gave more moisture to the batter, but the integrity of the apples remained in tact. It was a big hit with family and friends. I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States