Adam's Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Delicious! Followed recipe except used half white sugar and half brown sugar (just because I love brown sugar). I mixed all the ingredients together with a KitchenAid mixer. First I tossed the apples with the cinnamon. My family loved it and it was simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This had a good flavor but it wasn't as moist as I was hoping it would be- though that may be due to the type of apples used. I have an apple tree in the backyard but the apples themselves are on the "dry" side - when making applesauce with them apple juice has to be added or it ends up as thick as glue. I will try this again maybe with different apples next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Something's not right. I followed the directions exactly and the "batter" was very dry and crumbly. I added two more eggs. ?? Why was my batter so dry to start with? I used fresh laid eggs. Perhaps the recipe calls for extra large eggs? Hopefully it will taste great. I watched the video twice to see Adam's batter looked like. His was "pourable" but my original batter was definitely far from that so that's why I added the 2 eggs. Anybody have a theory?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I was out of white flour and white sugar, so I used whole wheat and demerara sugar with a bit of extra baking soda. Turned out great! Moist and Tasty! Even better with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
The first time I made this I followed the recipe to the letter, it was good but a little dry. I think with all the dry ingredients it needed a little more liquid. The second time I made it I added 1/3 cup of vanilla soy milk and sprinkled the top with brown sugar and cinnamon before baking. It came out moist airy, and really tasty. Great job Adam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I tried it the mix was very thick and did not look like the batter on the video. The one on the video appears nice and creamy, I followed the recipe exactly and it looked like apple crisp as it baked. I will try it again but right now I think my Kitchen Aid with the thick dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Help I ,made this cake today it was so thick I had to spoon it in the pan and it also was dry I did something wrong and I don't know what
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This cake was very good but a little on the sweet side. Took it to work and they really enjoyed it. It is moist but a very dense cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was interesting. It's not a cake nor a cookie or coffee cake, it's in a class of its own. I liked it, my husband had his with vanilla ice cream & liked it. The batter is...well, more like an oily shortbread mix. I cut my apples into chunks, I think a dice would be better. I thought 2 cups of sugar was a lot, but it wasn't, it was perfect. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this cake over the weekend and it was a great hit with my family. I did add 1/2 c. milk to the extremely thick batter but changed nothing else. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States