Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Delicious, but needed enhancements. I added 1/2 cup finely chopped red bell pepper, 10 shakes of Worcesteshire, more garlic, seasoning salt, splash of light soy, dried parsley, a whole egg not just the white. (For those that say your patties fall apart..I have a trick...You add the yolk of the egg as it helps to hold the mix together even when you have them flat as possible. Also put a light coating of flour on the patties just before you cook them ensuring that you shake off the excess flour. The flour helps form a light, crusty exterior and holds the patty and makes it easier to flip.) The egg yolk and extra bell pepper meant I had to add more breadcrumbs and for those who say their mix is sticky, you should probably add more crumbs anyway. How well they hold together in you hand is how well they hold on the pan. Juicy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I grilled these on my George Foreman grill, however, I was concerned that the grill would cook the burgers too fast (no heat control). So what I did was put the burgers on the cold grill, then plug it in. 15 mins later, the burgers were perfect! I cooked three and froze the rest...can't wait to see how they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
I am on a low cholesterol diet. I am also a carnivore. I love meat, but have been trying to cut down on fats & load up on fruit, veggies and the occasional red meat. I found this recipe to be really good with the following additions: 1) added a few drops of hickory seasoning liquid smoke 2) add a few drops of Worcestershire sauce, 3) add a small, plastic package of soy sauce, leftover from a Chinese restaurant. This will guarantee that these babies will taste like beef. I tried this on my equally carnivorous roomie, who proclaimed that due to my dilgent efforts, some can be fooled into thinking they're eating a Quarter Pounder, no cheese, extra onion. Speaking of onion, shred fine with a shredder. I used parsley from my garden. Good going, Trudi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
966 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
These burgers were scrumptious! I'd take them any day over regular hamburgers! (The husband, who's a big turkey fan, adored them too). When I made them, I substituted onion powder for chopped onion, left out the garlic, and added a few tablespoons of soy sauce, a couple teaspoons of worchestershire, and a few shakes of hot sauce. I also used Lawry's seasoning salt instead of regular salt. And I used italian-style bread crumbs. I put these on the grill, and sprinkled a little garlic powder and a little more worchestershire sauce on them as they cooked. I served them topped with lettuce, red onion, ketchup, and mustard, and they were so flavorful and juicy! Some other users said they added mushrooms to keep the burgers from being dry, but i found that the worchestershire will do the job just fine, and adds better flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Delicious! I used fresh bread crumbs (this helps with the dryness problem others complained of) and seasoned it with a little bit of Italian seasoning. They were really juicy. I was also careful to shape them gently (with a slight indentation in the center so that it would not "puff") and not press down on them during cooking, so they retained more juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I have now made this recipe twice, and it was delicious both times. The first time I had enough left over to make a meatloaf as well. I combined some tomato sauce, brown sugar, salt and worcestshire sauce and poured it over the loaf in the pan before baking it. It was great. I would highly recommend this recipe to someone who may have tried turkey for burgers, but were turned off by the bland texture and taste. This recipe overcomes all those issues, and is lowfat and healthful, too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I add a generous sprinkle of McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning on top of the patties, and they are perfect. Works well for turkey or beef. Also, I used Egg Beaters, and could not tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Add worchester sauce and seasoning salt. These were very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I tried this recipe three times...the first time I followed the directions exactly as written and thought that the burgers came out pretty good. The second time (after taking the advice of other users) I added a splash of liquid smoke, a splash of worcestershire sauce, and a splash of soy sauce. This recipe was a little tastier. The third time was definitely the best....instead of 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, I used 3/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs. I used one whole egg instead of two egg whites. I omitted the teaspoon of salt and added 2 Tablespoons of soy sauce instead. I added the splash of liquid smoke and worcestershire. Instead of trying to peel and mince the clove of garlic, I added 1 teaspoon of minced garlic out of the jar. The rest of the recipe (onion, parsley, pepper) I kept the same. Finally...I tried to pan fry the first two times, but grilled them on the BBQ the third time....10X better flavor! The one thing I learned is that you MUST spray the hell out of the grill with Pam to keep the patties from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stosh63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
There are delicious. You won't miss the beef I promise. These burgers are moist, juicy and packed with flavor. I used the ground turkey that includes dark meat. In the past using the ground turkey breast has no been as successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States