Across the Border Tequila Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
this was so delicious.. i didn't follow the directions and used this more as a marinade/cooking liquid.. left out the butter.. put everything in a zip lock bag and marinated for about 30 min's.. used mahi mahi fillets, doubled the chili powder, and subbed bottled lemon juice for the lime.. poured everything into a pan and cooked until done.. used the leftover juice to pour over rice.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I have made this twice and my bf and I both loved it both times. I did only make 1lb of shrimp. I reduced the tequila to 3 tbsp but kept the lime juice at 3 tbsp. so good the first time my bf got the ingredients out and asked me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
After I messed with this, it is definatly a 5. I made as listed, but the liquid wasnt evaporating and was very watery and didn't have much taste (I'm assuming the shrimp was really watery??) Anyway, I dumped out half of my liquid and then readded in the tequila and lime juice (1/2 recipe amounts) and dumped in more chile powder and garlic salt to taste. Taste was great, but still thought it was too thin, so I sprinkled some flour over the shrimp and stirred in. The shrimp and thickened sauce could go inside wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Please, DON'T SIMMER UNTIL LIQUID EVAPORATES! With that much butter and almost half a cup of liquid from the tequila and lime juice, plus the shrimp's liquid, your medium shrimp will be very overcooked. Aside from cooking just until the shrimp were done, I followed this recipe almost exactly and we really enjoyed the dish. I did use chipotle powder instead of chili powder and added the chopped cilantro with the pepper to cook down a little. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I was expecting this recipe to be spicier. I think I'll add some red pepper flakes if I make it again, but I made the recipe for friends who do no prefer spicy food, and they said it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eamcb
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made this and ate them like tacos with corn tortillas over cilantro-lime rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eamcb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This literally could not be easier or more delicious. I took a few cues from other reviewers and mixed a tablespoon of cornstarch in with the butter as I melted it at a low temperature and the sauce was a perfect consistency. I also served it over couscous (I had no rice) with sliced avocado. I'm not a big tequila drinker so I purchased a very small bottle of Patron Silver for $6.00 just to make this and it was well worth it. I also must admit I had a little shot as a was cooking, which should be mandatory, as it added to the whole experience. My husband and I were both in love with this shrimp and it will most certainly become part of my dinner repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Real simple and Real easy. I served this dish over tri-color rotini added a little cornstarch. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Yummy! Served over rice and mexi-corn...kept thinking how wonderful it'd be in a shrimp taco! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States