Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BethTheChef
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was my first time having acorn squash. I wasn't that impressed especially because the butter & brown sugar flavor was only at the bottom despite me brushing it along the top multiple times throughout baking. That being said, it was a lot of calories for it being a vegetable (I've been trying to experiment w/ healthier options). Next time, I'll forgo the butter and just sprinkle half the amount of brown sugar on it. I took the advice of another reviewer and baked it on 350 for an hour and it cooked perfectly throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I also add a bit of cinnamon and its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I grew up with the same recipe, but we bake the halves separately, and we add a few slices of bacon in during the cooking:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Strube

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Pure D heaven.....only used tsp brown sugar and still melted in my mouth.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Pirtle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a great way to do squash. I have been doing this for years but with a twist. We have squash when I make pork chops. This meal is so easy. Cut squash in half and seed. fill with the brown sugar and butter or use honey if you like. Then take your pork chop and salt n pepper to taste and lay on foil (big enough piece to wrap pork chop and squash. Next put squash on top of pork chop and wrap in you foil. Put in oven and bake for 45 min. to hour depending on chop and size of squash. (350 oven) The chop comes out so moist and the squash is wonderful. Plus this is easy to clean up. I use thick cut Iowa pork chops for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Treadingwell
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is yummy. I have never had acorn squash before and this was excellent. The only thing I did different was after I turned over the halves I put 1tbsp of butter & 2 tbsp of brown sugar in each half and didn't put them over each other then baked it for 20 mins. It still turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Not bad. Taste like yam..Easy to make. But I think I rather sweet potatoes over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I agree with those of you who said to cook the squash with water in the pan, the first time. Since it was my first time eating it this way, I'll add, that you MUST eat it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAVaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I had some acorn squarsh a few months ago,i was looking for a recipe and found this one i didnt pit it in the oven first,i put the brown sugar and cinnamon on and baked them till they were done,my daughter doesnt like squash,but she loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States