Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My acorn squash was fairly big and cutting in half seemed dangerous - so I microwaved it 2-1/2 minutes on high. MUCH easier to cut in half!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I found this recipe last fall & already have an acorn squash to make it again this year. Acorn squash is very difficult to cut through. Microwave it for a few minutes and then it slices easily. Other reviews suggest cooking entirely in the microwave, but I prefer roasting it in the oven. It smells so good while it's cooking. Also, since I'm from the south I use way more butter & a little extra brown sugar. I haven't tried this with molasses but I'm sure that would be good too. This is very good served with ham. Great fall recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I have made acorn squash for many years, but you are missing a major ingredient! GARLIC! May sound odd, but add a tablespoon of crushed garlic to the butter and brown sugar before baking. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This makes a delicious, smooth puree, that my baby loves. I added a dash of cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Awesome, awesome, awesome! If you let it sit for about 5 mins after taking out of oven, the butter/sugar combination thickens. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
DONE THIS FOR YEARS. SAVE CALORIES WITH SPLENDA BROWN SUGAR. ALSO ADD DASH OF CINNAMON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I just baked in a baking pan with some water for 45 mins. and they cooked just fine. I thought there was too much butter and sugar. Next time I will try only 1/4 T. butter and 1/2 T. of brown sugar per each acorn half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
My mom made acorn squash just like this when I was a kid. It's the only kind of squash I'll eat, and the only way I'll eat it. The only difference I think is she cooked it upside down till soft, turned them over & put the butter/brown sugar in each half and put them back in the oven just to melt the butter/sugar mixture. Great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
butter is not needed to get the desidered result here, it's just wasted calorie and fat...while I agee it can be microwaved, I prefer mine in the oven, i place the squash in pan with water 1/2 way up the side of the squash and the cavity face up filled with brown sugar and cinnamon....although maple syrup is a good alternative as well...just fill it and forget it and let the amazing aroma take over the house, my son who is picky when it comes to vegetables will actually ask for this one, he loves it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My husbands favorite way to eat squash - simple and only a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States