Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Easy side dish. I added a little maple syrup to the middle along with the brown sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Just like my mom used to make for me when I was growing up! I completely forgot I even liked this, but it's a great way to get more veggies, cause I eat it as a dessert. Even my picky eater husband liked it :) I pricked the squash innerds with a fork to get the buttery, sugary flavor to soak in better, it helps a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.robinson2152

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
So very good and easy! My family loves when I serve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Simple, easy, good. Definitely add criss crosses and don't put one half on top of the other (divide ingredients in each half) like Kathryno suggested. I also put tin foil on top of the pan the last 15 minutes it was baking to preserve moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
It was tasty but not exceptional. Rather have mashed yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Hadn't made Acorn Squash in a very long time and this was the first recipe that came up in a Google search. Very happy it did! Couldn't have been more simple to prepare. Cooked very tender to the point of being able to eat everything except the skin. Knocked off one star because while one shell is very well seasoned with the butter and brown sugar, the one shell that's on the top, isn't because it's upside down. Still going to add this to my Recipe Box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
this was delicious and not too difficult! hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
it is a simple and delicious recipe - i just add chopped walnuts for extra crunch and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Just like I remember as a child. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This squash was great, and I'm not a big squash fan. I agree with several reviews about the handling. Nuke it for 2-3 minutes to make it easier to cut. I also did not cover the bottom half with the top half as suggested, otherwise only one side would have all the flavor. But do keep in mind that if you cut it around the center (versus top to bottom) the top half of the squash is thicker and takes longer to cook. The first time I made it, the bottom half was perfect but the top half was underdone. Second time I made it, I put the top half in 12 minutes earlier than the bottom and it all came out perfectly. I also scored mine (cross hatches with a knife in the flesh) to let the flavors sink in, before adding the butter and sugar...and a pinch of salt, which does add a great flavor. Made this for my Dad and he scraped every last bite down to the skin. Microwaved leftovers 2 days later and still fantastic. Will make again! By the way, look for the recipe for toasting winter squash seeds on this site too. At least as good as pumpkin seeds and such a shame to throw them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States